We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,175)
Filter reviews
1,175 results
Traveler rating
959
151
55
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
959
151
55
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cream tea drawing room beautiful hotel bridal suite wedding venue scones course taster menu a lake view room afternoon tea public rooms roaring fire lake district fine dining stunning views four poster bed reception area evening meal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,175 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2021 via mobile

We don't live far but wanted a post Christmas, anniversary treat and picked the merewood as they had a great offer on for cream tea, dinner, wine and breakfast. Due to Covid and many tier 3 & 4 tourists descending on the lakes, this break met our needs as everything was under one roof and we felt extremely safe there. The meal was outsanding; perfectly cooked steak for me and melt in the mouth lamb Henry for my husband. Breakfast was also fantastic. All in all we couldn't fault anything, the staff were all friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful room with spectacular views. Really can't wait to go back when we can.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank hannahmW8131OJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2020

Cannot fault this hotel, Robert, Ramon and their staff for making our Christmas so amazing. The staff go above and beyond and are the nicest hotel staff we have ever met. From the food which was delicious, to the amazing drinks receptions and the little extras like a stocking on Christmas morning, a gift from Santa and a going home bag (of bread and milk), it’s the little touches that count.
The hotel is beautiful and COVID measures are excellent. It’s in a stunning spot and despite the current situation we could not have asked for a better Christmas.
If we could come every Christmas we would but we will definitely be back soon!
Thank you, Mark & Louise

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lou130581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 December 2020

We stayed for just one night and it was enjoyable. The building is simply wonderful and to be welcomed by a roaring fire in reception with the Xmas decorations was great. We had a classic room 8 and although we appreciate it was the lower category we found it to be cramped. The shallow small dressing table is the only place for tea tray and it has lamps on etc. Had to keep juggling things around. The view isn’t good as it looks out on to a big green outbuilding. Bathroom is also dated and extremely small. Having said that the room was nicely decorated. Having pre dinner drinks in the wonderful bar area was so lovely and our 8 course taster menu meal was ok. We thought a few courses were fabulous and a few less so. The dining room was beautiful and the wine very good value for money. Service was excellent. Breakfast was also very nice indeed. Not keen on the hot breakfast being served whilst we were still eating our fruit salad and yogurt though.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BettyBoopTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2020 via mobile

What a lovely hotel, in a great location between Windermere and Ambleside. The staff were all great, helpful and really friendly. The breakfast and our evening meal in the Grill restaurant were outstanding, the best Lamb Henry I’ve had.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank S2708XKalanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager, General Manager at Merewood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us here at the Merewood. We are delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable and our team will be most grateful for your kind words.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal in the Grill. Here at the Merewood we have two restaurants; the Grill which offers familiar style food in a relaxed atmosphere and Arboreal which is a 'foodies' paradise, offering an 8 course taster menu.

Thank you once again for your kind words and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Robert
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2020

We've just returned from a two night break and loved every minute of our stay. There was a warm welcome on arrival and I'm not just talking about the roaring fire in the foyer. The scones in the cream tea were beautiful as was the breakfast on both mornings. The hotel is a relatively small, grand country home but in good condition and very cosy and comfy. We were out hiking on both days and although the weather was a little damp at times we knew we could relax in the bar when we got in. The staff were all super friendly, helpful, polite and very cheerful which made us feel very well looked after. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we will definitely be back.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thwaitey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager, General Manager at Merewood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us at the Merewood.

The Merewood dates back to 1812 to when it was an old hunting lodge and we believe it is a perfect location to come back to after a hard day out in the Lakes. We have 4 open fire places, as well as warm hearty food in the Merewood Grill or our 8 course fine dining menu in Arboreal.

Our team will be delighted to read your kind words about them furthermore. At the Merewood we try and offer a home from home experience.

Thank you once again for your kind words and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Robert
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews