We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveler rating
616
11
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
616
11
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house fresh milk town centre little touches warm welcome excellent hosts lovely couple quiet street muesli moment you arrive fantastic stay home made cakes room was spotless breakfast was amazing nothing is too much trouble full english lovely guesthouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 628 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect location, great hosts who gave good advice on places to eat and local walks. Cleanliness spotless. Kettle tea coffee hot chocolate biscuits and fresh milk in room and topped up on daily basis. Bottled water and glasses in room water full everyday. Room cleaned everyday and towels changed. Breakfast are superb the fresh produce used is beautiful and well cooked with a very good selection which you order the night before with time slot between 8-9 am. Excellent 3 night stay. Thoroughly recommend

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank bradpitstuntman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2021 via mobile

Very warm welcome from Tony and Pearl who were friendly, helpful and chatty. We had Room 6 on top floor, well furnished and very clean, good shower. Weather was very wet during our stay but Tony dried our boots out for us in his boot dryer. Excellent cooked breakfast in the morning, all good quality ingredients. Would stay here again without hesitation.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank stephenhR9427GW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2021

Warm welcome from hosts. Nothing too much trouble. Clean well equipped room with a comfortable bed. Good choice of breakfast options. Comfortable lounge with drinks facility. Home from home. We would be happy to stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2021
1  Thank paulinehC7683CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2021

Located a few minutes walk into the centre of Keswick the Avondale was a perfect base for walking and trips around Keswick . With very good quality restaurants and pubs recommended by Tony and Pearl , before our visit we could pre book and enjoy the excellent array of pubs and restaurants in the busy but friendly centre .
The Rooms at the Avondale were very clean and well decorated added additional touches like fresh milk every day and the room serviced daily were much appreciated. Breakfast was exceptional with a wide range for every taste from full English breakfast perfectly prepared to cereals , fruits and excellent flavoured jams.
The only problem if any was a weak Wi Fi in rooms on third floor this didn’t effect our visit but may cause others more issues
Although our stay was cut a little short we would certainly recommend a stay at the Avondale with friendly hosts Tony and Pearl thanks to you both
Regards John & Alison

Room tip: Lower floors better WiFi
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank johnpD3180LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2021

Tony & Pearl truly made our stay at Avondale one to remember! The room was perfect and cosy, and the location is right in the heart of Keswick and within short walking distance of the town. From the moment we arrived, we felt at home - the breakfast was exceptional, all the recommendations on places to eat/walks to do made our trip to Keswick so great. The cherry on top was receiving a card and some chocolates for our anniversary, which goes to show what wonderful people Tony & Pearl are. We will forever hold fond memories of staying at Avondale and hope to return again one day!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews