We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor heigene”
Review of Brew Brothers

Brew Brothers
Get food delivered
Ranked #1 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: ₱74 - ₱893
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Brew Brothers is an independent, licensed shabby chic coffee house serving Farrers coffee, speciality teas, homemade cakes and fresh innovative food. You can find us on Highgate, Kendal where we offer a wide range of food and drinks throughout the day. From our delicious pastries and traybakes, all-day brunches all freshly made on the premises, and our varied lunch menu from lighter options to our famous homemade burgers. Please bring your four legged friends with. Brew Brothers love dogs.
Reviewed April 17, 2024

Went in to this cafe for breakfast but soon changed our minds dogs sat on seats licking tables and to make matters worse the staff/food handlers were stroking and letting the dogs 🐕 lick there hands with no sign off washing them, we,also observed a young waitress being licked by a dog then moments later picking up a croissant and serving it to a customer this review will be passed on to the environmental team to view, absolutely 💯 percent disgusting

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Service
    • Food
Thank koi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bradly Muir, Owner at Brew Brothers, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2024

Good day kol1

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on Brew Brothers. I'm not sure if you actually had a meal or not, as you said you 'changed your mind' so I am puzzled as to the 1 star for food, if you did not have any.

We took the decision to be dog friendly as we are based in The Lakes - and The Lakes is, after all 'Dog Heaven'. With that decision we are keenly aware that we need to follow a strict policy with our staff and the SOP around this. Staff are to sanitise their hands each and every time ( without fail).

You may have , but in this case, not have noticed that there are hand sanitation dispenses behind the counter and these are used each and every time. I can say with 100% confidence that this happens, our fantastic team are very aware of this, sanitising hands is rule #1,

The reason I am sure of this is I assure you you are not the first person to post something along the same lines and I can guarantee you you will not be the last, and it is for that reason we are confident of our processes.

Following on from this, recently our on going 5 star hygiene rating was renewed without any concerns. Approx. 3 weeks ago our annual health and safety assessments were carried out and again passed will all the necessary procedures in place.

One of the ongoing effects of the terrible Covid period was the whole mind set around hand sanitation and cleaning down tables after each guest has visited. This process remains in place.

I suspect you are not keen on dog in cafes, bars and restaurants, so perhaps avoiding these establishments would be better, but that's not so easy in the Lakes as by far most of the amazing eateries in Cumbria allow dogs.

regards





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 851 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2024

On a short stay in the lake district. Visited this cafe for Breakfast as didn't fancy the hotel breakfast for the fourth day in a row. Friendly staff. Would have preferred table service but did not have to queue for too long. Nice coffee in a good sized mug.
Food was very nice. in the centre of town so easy to get to.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sandra l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 31, 2024

Absolutely amazing breakfast! Delicious smoked haddock and hollandaise, wonderful full breakfast!

We'd done our research and chose this based on previous reviews. Excellent choice! Service and food were wonderful. It's worth the slightly higher price for the amazing quality of ingredients and superb food!

Give this place a visit!

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 312rachaelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 17, 2024 via mobile

Found this online while staying at Kendal for a break. We look for something f with veg / vegan options , parking and with a good review or two. This seemed to fit the bill so gave it a shot. Small place very busy. Looked organised. Dog friendly. Got seated at a high table , checked the menu. Lots of options inc vegan and veg. Hubby ordered vegan breakfast and black coffee. I got vegan porridge and earl grey tea. Took about 35 - 40 mins but portion sizes generous but not massive. Hot and very tasty. Good atmosphere attentive staff, not overbearing or overly fussy, did come and check if food was ok and cleared table quickly. Clean and tidy, it was a constant queue of customers and a lot of them did get turned away because there wasnt any spare seats 11.00 am.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank 125skyler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 15, 2024

Always eat here when we are visiting,the staff are so friendly and make you feel very welcome,its clean and the food is lovely,been at least 8 times in the past 12 months and never been disappointed

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Ree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Brew Brothers also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Brew Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.