We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Sizergh Castle
from US$952.42
More Info
Reviews (1,402)
Filter reviews
1,402 results
Traveler rating
662
569
112
33
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
662
569
112
33
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national trust rock garden strickland family nt members kitchen garden well worth a visit vegetable garden car park gardens are lovely stately home enjoyed our visit nice cafe cakes grounds walks rockery house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,402 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2020

On a wet autumnal day, we visited Sizergh Castle with its different gardens, some housing part of the National Collection of ferns, and with lots of glorious autumnal colour.

The estate was in the ownership of one family for over 700 years, the Stricklands, who managed to retain the estate despite their Jacobite loyalties, until given to the National Trust in 1950.

The early part of the building is the 14th/15th century tower, with further alterations over the years. In the 1890's the entire Inlaid Chamber, including the wooden paneling, was sold to the Victoria & Albert Museum, returning to its original location on loan in 1999. The house, however, was not open when we visited though we enjoyed exploring the gardens and grounds.

Date of experience: October 2020
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2020

Good day out.

Small garden and parts of it were unfortunately closed when we were there. The apple orchard was good. Shame to see all the windfalls rotting on the ground, we took a bag home with us.
The children enjoyed scampering around the rockery.

We did the walk round the estate and combined all 3 walks. Was really pleasant and would recommend anyone with time to spare to do it. Fabulous views from on top of sizergh fell, like most of the lakes!

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank stran-auck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2020 via mobile

We had to pre book online the walk. Kids really enjoyed it. Nice gardens too. As it was a rainy day we didnt spend much time in the gardens.

Date of experience: July 2020
2  Thank Nil40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2020 via mobile

We stopped by on the way home after a week in windermere. Due to covid restrictions the grounds, shop and cafe are open (pre booking necessary) but the castle itself isnt.

Sadly, the day we visited was terrible weather in october so whilst it looked a good site, we struggled with the rain (pity you cant book the weather!)

We would be interested in a return visit when the castle itself can reopen, as I would like to know more about the estate

Date of experience: October 2020
2  Thank GDP102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2020 via mobile

Very beautiful well kept gardens with lovely autumn colours. As always the NT cafe food was excellent. We did the orange walk, which was lovely, but not very clearly signposted. You can’t get very lost but better signs to the start of the walk and during the walk would be good.

Date of experience: October 2020
2  Thank Alan25252525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews