We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,153)
Filter reviews
1,153 results
Traveler rating
778
247
76
36
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
778
247
76
36
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aromatherapy room riverside suite balcony overlooking the river lake district lovely hotel coffee and petit fours spa facility relaxing stay small balcony wine list high standard venison hydro pool the ground floor luxury hotel fine dining wedding anniversary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,153 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2020 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in gorgeous location, only a short stroll into heart of Grasmere. What made it very special were the wonderful staff, so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic breakfast with wide choice of options. Comfortable well decorated spotless rooms. The spa was really lovely, the heated loungers were very relaxing. Fabulous hotel, well worth a visit

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank LMWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 December 2020 via mobile

Staying at the Butter Crag Suite in Rothay has been a brilliant experience from start to end. We have really enjoyed our birthday celebrations, and would definitely return in the future. Exclusive spa access is a real treat and would highly recommend getting booked in. Check in was smooth and pleasant (thanks Harry and Michelle), food amazing (thanks Tom). Great Covid19 secure policies in place feel really safe with a high standards of cleaning.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Molloyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 December 2020

Turn up and turn off.
The perfect getaway for taking in all that is special about the Lakes and in particular Grasmere.
Hotel facilities, staff and cuisine were all outstanding.
Will definitely be returning soon.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michaelking523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 December 2020

We have stayed at the Rothay Garden Hotel on a number of occasions and despite the COVID pandemic you are always guaranteed a great stay. The food was excellent and the service superb. Even the weather was good.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 December 2020 via mobile

We booked this hotel through secret escapes on a fab deal. I had knee surgery three weeks before our visit so had mobility issues but managed to book room 4 riverside suite which gave me peace of mind with accessibility. To say the room and views are beautiful is an understatement! The hotel is stunning the dining room beautiful and the food just lovely. We had a lovely Covid safe stay and will most definitely return. a special mention for the lovely Colombian member of staff who brought a breath of fresh air to our breakfast!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank suebl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews