We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,120)
Filter reviews
2,120 results
Traveler rating
1,007
678
265
113
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,007
678
265
113
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red lion club room parking is limited leisure facilities lovely hotel lake district third floor dog friendly hotel pool and jacuzzi evening meal lounge area sister hotel short break fish and chips night break both nights public areas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 2,120 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2020

Standard of food doesn't match prices...sloppy presentation. Saw others return food that wasn't warm.. Burnt toast at breakfast. But its the staff attitude that really impacts enjoyment of stay. Shame as great setting, cozy room and nicely done out. Customer care training desperately needed.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Goldiebirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 December 2020 via mobile

I really hate to have a dig at anyone’s business, but the owners needs to know, so they can fix this, the hotel is great but the kitchen is letting them down in a big way!

But don’t be put off staying, it really is a nice hotel.

The room was great, decent size, clean and comfortable.

The common areas were comfy and welcoming.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, couldn’t fault them.

The food was, to be blunt, terrible!

This hotel needs to take a look at the food, not sure if it’s a hangover from re-opening after lockdown V2, but the dinner menu was lacking.

Choice of main:

Sausage & chips
Fish & chips (cold peas, slither of fish in a ton of greasy batter) mostly inedible.
Pheasant (ran out)
Scampi & chips

2x salad, or pizza/burger selection.

Starters were ok, mains were poor and deserts were microwaved too much.

Breakfast was not great either on both mornings.

We were on a full price stay, not a discounted deal, it really should have been better.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Yosserwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 October 2020

We stayed here for a cheeky mid week break, all staff were very nice on arrival, we was very pleasantly surprised when we walked in to the room (Helm crag) floor to ceiling window looking out over fields and cottages, great room looks to have been recently renovated to a very high standard, new bathroom was also very nice, food was very nice ate evening meals on both nights also the breakfasts are fantastic too plenty to choose from only thing missing black pudding
Pool area was lovely very clean and with the new rules you have to book a slot which is great as you get the pool to yourself
Fantastic location for our walk round the lakes.
Looking forward to returning in Jan for our anniversary.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gilly817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2020

Just returned from a 4 night stay with my wife and pet cocker spaniel.
We had a really good relaxing break and were very impressed by how hard the staff worked to keep everyone safe in these Covid times.
We ate at the hotel every evening and must admit that after the first evenings meal which arrived luke warm we feared the worse. That was put right quickly and I must say that after that everything we had was excellent. Especially the fish. Really good breakfast too.
There were a fair number of pets in the hotel but all were well behaved and I don’t think that should put you off if you went without one.
My only gripe would be that the WiFi didn’t work in my room and the TV reception was very weak. I did tell reception and got the reply of ‘ it’s nothing to do with us, it’s run by an outside company’ In this day an age it’s shouldn’t be rocket science to get WiFi around the building.
So all in all, really nice, well appointed hotel. Polite and hardworking staff. I would return and recommend.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank carpetvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

We have just returned from this lovely hotel , we stayed for 2 nights BB and evening meal we stayed in the Helm room and it was stunning beautiful views,, staff were very welcoming service was excellent I have absolutely no complaints see you in February 2021❣️

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank wardeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews