We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% recommend”
Review of Dodds Restaurant

Dodds Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 116 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Reviewed June 5, 2024 via mobile

Delicious food, cute decor & great atmosphere! Has a cozy homey vibe and the reviews on napkins on the wall is a nice touch!

Date of visit: June 2024
1  Thank Georgie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 3,146 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2024

A very touristy restaurant with an expensive menu, few vegetables in the meals and could not even order a side of vegetables. So unhealthy food. The service was quick, but staff were completely disinterested in customers - did not engage at all, just focused on taking orders and getting customers out of the door.

Date of visit: May 2024
1  Thank andrew2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laszlo Papp, Owner at Dodds Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2024

Hi Andrew!
Thank you for your visit and feedback.

1:
We are located probably in one of the most visited villages in the country by tourists. To not be touristy would be quite difficult and also a stupid business proposition as well.
Expensive is subjective to everyone, based on experience, choice, value perception, priorities and cultural differences.
I think the 1st point has been addressed.

2
We don’t do sides of vegetables. We got various salads for that purpose.
Main course dishes are complete with vegetables (Tuna with Sweet Potato, Broccoli and Grilled Tomatoes, for example).
I’m not going to explain pizzas and pastas for obvious reasons.
Sometimes customers ask for a portion of peas, broccoli, asparagus, mushrooms, artichokes, etc as side. We don’t say no to these if we got enough.

3
Thank you for praising our quick service.
On a Bank Holiday weekend will be extremely difficult to provide a personalised experience.
When we got more time we engage more, when it’s extremely busy this becomes difficult.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2024

Excellent fresh food, lovely lively environment and great service despite the busy daytime crowd. Whole family throughly enjoyed their meals and we will definitely come again next time we eat out in Ambleside.

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Martyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 17, 2024

Fantastic meal and service, one of the best pizzas we have ever had it was delicious, would highly recommend, my husband is Italian and a chef and he gives this place a massive thumbs up

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AnnMarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 13, 2024

Great food, great service, great atmosphere. Decently priced wide menu with a variety of pizzas and pasta. Ate here for an evening meal - would go back!

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Dodds Restaurant also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Dodds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.