We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Dodds Restaurant

Dodds Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 116 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Reviewed August 14, 2015 via mobile

We were lucky to be seated in a nice spot straight away as it is obvious this is a popular restaurant where customers don't mind waiting a little while to be seated and eat here.

The staff were all very friendly and promt in taking both drink and food orders.

We shared the beef carpaccio and the garlic bread with cheese to start which we both delicious.

I can't remember the exact names of the mains but the pasta dish with chicken, paprika and chorizo was perfectly flavoured and my partner enjoyed his pizza topped with bolognese and spicy sausage.

We were full to the brim but couldn't resist trying the limoncello and strawberry tiramisu.

It was so light and delicate I managed to polish it off no problem.

Well worth a visit!

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank charlestayls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,737 - 1,741 of 3,148 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2015 via mobile

Came here for dinner. Got here around 6 and waited around 10 minutes for table for 4. We got told you cannot reserve and therefore good to get there earlier. it is a small cost restaurant and by 7 there were bigger queue. Food was good-looking I tried the lasagne which was really good portion and very tasty.. also added chunkey chips. Was too full for dessert. Would come again- recommend!

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Sct10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 13, 2015 via mobile

We visited Dodds last night as a family of four. Arrived around 7pm and possibly had to wait for an hour. However so glad we did, food was superb, atmosphere great. Had a brilliant meal and evening.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank HayleyW805
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 12, 2015

This is new to Ambleside this year and is always busy. They do not take bookings so timing is everything, however it is well worth the wait. Lovely food and good service, not too pushy but there when you want them. Recommended

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 11, 2015 via mobile

We arrived at Dodds at approximately 18:00 and had to wait for a table. The manager was very honest and suggested that it may be a 20 minute wait. We ordered some drinks and sat at the bar, only waiting for 20 minutes to get a table for our party of three.
The food was truly sensational. The pork a real highlight, even if we did exchange the creamed potato for chips!
The staff were very accommodating and there was no pressure to order quickly, despite the ever growing queue.
Dodds really lived up to the positive reviews!

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank JCCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Dodds Restaurant also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Dodds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.