We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC MENU!!!!!!& STAFF”
Review of The Railway Inn

The Railway Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We would like to welcome you to our Country family run pub. We pride ourselves on being traditional and serving our homemade meals and serving local hand pull ales. We are located half way on the historical Hull to Hornsea Railway tract. The Track is now a very popular cycle track for all abilities. The track is actually a section of the larger more well known 'Coast to Coast' Trans Pennine way were individuals take on the challenge of cycling from Hornsea to South Port totalling 215miles.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This place seems to get better every time l visit. This time was for bank holiday Monday, where l had the HUGE fish n chips and my son the steak pie. The Railway Inn has just gone through a refurbishment and it looks fab. The staff are so polite and check to see if you need anything else. The owner Sue can be seen around the establishment and she she ensures her customers have had a pleasant meal. Portion sizes are very good and the atmosphere is a delight.
I will be back again.
Thank you to The Railway Inn -Lyn

1  Thank LMO0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for kind words in your recent dining experiences, we are so pleased you had another enjoyable visit with us. We are delighted that you are a returning customer as of many, We thrive on customer service of our diners, we want them to go away totally satisfied and gain a very warm welcome. Yes I'm always around checking that both staff and diners are happy. I will feed back to my team your valuable comments and thank you once again, look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We decided to pop up to Hull to see one’s Mum for Easter and by way of a treat took her to one off the best Pubs/ Restaurants not far away from were she lives in Hull. It’s not the first time we’ve been but we’re curious to see how a recent refurbishment had turn out, and we were not disappointed. The pub has a very light, fresh and cosy feel inside follow the refurbishment. The choice of meals is still very good with both a set menu list to chose from as well as daily specials, portions are excellent at a very reasonable cost. The staff are always very polite and eager to make your visit a memorable one. Can’t wait to go again when next in Hull, probably in a couple of weeks time.

3  Thank Northern20358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your fantastic review, your kind words are greatly received. We are very proud of our refurbishment and very pleased to hear you were not disappointed.

Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Hull,

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We popped in to this inn mid morning on a cycling day trip; we were hoping just for a coffee, despite it being more of a restaurant. The staff were very welcoming and flexible, and upon asking about lunch, there was no problem remembering to reserve a table for our expected return time. We cycled on and on the way back stopped by for our late lunch. It was very tasty, generous portions, the meat is local from named farms, good value for money. Despite it being Easter Sunday and busy, the staff were patient, unstressed and dealt well with all that arrived, booked or not. The turnover is decent, so the kitchen must be similarly well organised.

1  Thank travelauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. We remember you both coming in the pub early, we thought you were both very brave cycling in the awful weather. Now we are in spring we usually attract many cyclists and have all out outdoor seating and tables filled with dog walkers too, however the nicer weather seems to be slightly delayed this year.

We hope to see you again,

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Despite being extremely busy Sue managed to accommodate our party of six in the lovely restaurant on Easter Sunday. As usual, a very friendly warm welcome was received and a lovely family ambience filled the establishment. It is a real treat to be able to choose from the full menu in addition to the standard Sunday lunch fare. All of our meals absolutely wonderful and the friendly staff were attentive, friendly and extremely efficient. We are regular visitor's to The 'Railway' as we assured of first class food that is competitively priced in lovely comfortable surroundings.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

What a lovely review, your kind comments are greatly received. Thank you for your repeat and loyal cusom and we look forward to seeing you again soon,

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I have come from
Gloucester to visit family in Hull and they suggested coming here for Sunday lunch . When we arrived we were greeted by the best friendliest staff I have ever met. The service was out of this world and the food was glorious, I have never eaten a steak pie as fantastic as this , it was superb. I throughly enjoyed my visit from start to finish and I recommend people who visit Hull should definitely pay this establishment a visit , you will NOT be disappointed. Excellent food with a beautiful setting . Simply fantastic

Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your fantastic 5 star amazing review, I will show your kind words for the full team.
Thank you for choosing The Railway for your sunday lunch when your family visiting.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Railway Inn also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing