We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Winchester
Nearby Hotels
US$104
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$89
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Marwell Hotel(Winchester)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$54
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
US$195
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wykeham Arms(Winchester)
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$152
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Sutton Scotney South(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,057)
Filter reviews
1,057 results
Traveler rating
497
390
122
30
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
390
122
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspacious hotelpeppa pig worldair conplenty of parkingexecutive roomfamily roomreception areashort drivegood sizefried eggsstayed here for one nightrestaurant staffreception staffbar menutea and coffeeevening mealcity centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,057 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had originally booked the Mercure hotel in town for a weekend away with my friend and I’m so pleased I changed to the HI Winchester.
Hotel is clean with comfy beds, good a/c and tea/coffee facilities.
Brilliant breakfast, too much food actually.
The hotel is some way from Winchester with the cost by taxi being £8 or so.
Would prefer earlier check in as 3pm is late especially as you have to vacate the room by 11am which is early!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
Thank janetdbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSolarz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Janetbarker for your lovely review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel clean, with comfy beds and good tea/coffee facilities. It was also great to hear how much you enjoyed your breakfast. Although check-in is 3pm, if you arrive earlier, and your room is ready, then we are more than happy for you to check in, but we can never guarantee this. As I am sure you can appreciate, it is difficult to predict when guests will check out so we have to allow enough time for the rooms to be serviced to our high standards, before allocating them to new guests. If you stay with us again and you would like a late check out, you can speak to Reception (subject to availability) and see what can be arranged
Kind Regards,
Marc Solarz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have stay here at least once a week and the excellent service by all team members is fantastic. . It is great to see consistency with the staff. Reception are always polite and aim to please. The restaurant is awesome, with a variety of choice. My favourite team
Member is Nick, he is very attentive and always ensure the guests are happy. I have witnessed guests being extremely rude to him, however he remained calm and extremely professional. I enjoy staying here and always chose this holiday inn - head and shoulders above others and hotels in the area

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Thank Trixie1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSolarz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Trixie1601 for your wonderful review and continued loyalty!
I was delighted to read your comments about our staff and restaurant and have passed them onto the team members. It's also great to hear that you feel we are head and shoulders above other hotels in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Kind Regards,
Marc Solarz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2018

We stayed last Saturday night, bit of a snap decision, booked using our IHG points and headed off. We arrived early and were checked straight in, and given an upgrade to an Executive room which was rather nice, Room 301. The room was very modern, no opening window the it did have air con/heating. Nice bathroom, very large and comfortable bed and a stocked mini bar.

The City is a good walk away, around 2.5 miles, which for us was good, but it is easy to drive (although parking can be an issue in Winchester from previous experience) and there was also a bus stop on the main road outside the hotel, Stagecoach bus number 64, you can look up real time departures on the stagecoach website.

We didn't have dinner in the hotel, we preferred to head into Town, but we did have the discounted breakfast (we were offered a voucher on arrival, £9.99 each) and it was really good. I cannot eat gluten and there were more than enough options for me.

All in all a very nice stay and we will visit again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samiloupepperell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSolarz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review and I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed your complimentary upgraded room. It's also great to hear that you took advantage of our breakfast voucher offer and enjoyed the many choices available. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Marc Solarz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2018

Nothing Wrong with this Hotel I have seen better Holiday Inns but have also seen Worse. Bar and Resturant are ok, a little basic.
Having a Gym is a nice addition. Rooms are a little on the bland and plain side with a smaller TV than most Holiday Inns.
there is nothing nearby its a 10 minute drive to Winchester.
However Friendly Staff as always, decent Wifi. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Co-opMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSolarz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

Thank you for your review, Co-op Matt and I am pleased that you find the staff friendly and good wifi. Although Winchester is 2.5 miles away, we do offer a complimentary shuttle bus for our corporate guests from Mon-Thurs inclusive and we also have a reduced taxi rate for our guests with a local company. If you stay with us again and you need any assistance organising transport, please do not hesitate to speak to Reception who will be happy to help. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Marc Solarz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2018

As a couple of people have already indicated, the hotel is located a couple of miles from the centre of Winchester, with nothing around it apart from the science centre so you do need a car to get around. It has a very spacious entrance lobby and the rooms are a decent size although not very well apportioned. The actual room was very big but the bathroom and wardrobe were both tiny and I couldn't help think that more thought could have gone into the layout.
Having said this, the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. There is a small but decently equipped gym on site but if there are more than about 6 people working out it can get a bit crowded. it has a rower, a couple of treadmills and an elliptical machine plus a few weights machines and some dumbbells, so enough for most people to get some sort of workout.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant downstairs. There is a decent choice of hot and cold options and the staff are very helpful and pleasant
I would certainly consider staying here again

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSolarz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2018

Thank you, Pieter B for your recent review and I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us. Although we are a 2.5 miles from the centre of town, Winchester is easily accessible via bus or taxi. We have a bus stop located directly outside the hotel and we also have a reduced rate with a local taxi company for our guests. If you stay with us again please do not hesitate to ask reception for timetables or help arranging taxis. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind Regards,
Marc Solarz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews