We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and would definitely recommend!!”
Review of Exciting Escapes

Exciting Escapes
Ranked #2 of 41 Fun & Games in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Exciting Escapes are thrilled to bring the global phenomenon that is Escape Rooms to Southampton. Working together in a small group of 2-6 people, your challenge is to solve puzzles and mysteries together while the clock ticks down. Each room has a story that you play a part in, and each presents its own unique challenges for a truly entertaining experience. Will you accept the challenge?
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We visited on good Friday and were warmly welcomed. It was all of our first experience in an escape room and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m excited to try the other rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank AdMall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair S, Manager at Exciting Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you so much for such a wonderful and kind review! We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your first escape room experience with us and we're as excited as you are for you to come back and try our numerous other rooms, tricky tasks and mysterious missions...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"record shop"
in 54 reviews
"escape room"
in 200 reviews
"great fun"
in 181 reviews
"cold war"
in 14 reviews
"record room"
in 11 reviews
"seconds to spare"
in 35 reviews
"solving puzzles"
in 11 reviews
"team building"
in 26 reviews
"level of difficulty"
in 10 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 25 reviews
"no idea what to expect"
in 12 reviews
"police station"
in 10 reviews
"work colleagues"
in 9 reviews
"great escape"
in 15 reviews
"well thought out"
in 16 reviews
"staff were really friendly"
in 10 reviews
"can't wait to come back"
in 10 reviews
Filter

282 - 286 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Thanks for a great experience. A really good room with lots of interesting things to solve. Team work was definitely needed and good directing and humour from Alistair, our games master. The problems were different to other rooms we have completed in the past but just as challenging. The room definitely needs 4 people but works well with 6 or 7. We had a great time and would definitely recommend it to others.

Thank annaf20172017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Manager at Exciting Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for this lovely review! We're thrilled that you had a great experience, and it really means a lot to us that you found it very different to previous rooms you have played! We're glad you recommend us and hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We were brought this as a present, and we’re so glad! Myself and my husband did it as a date night, and we loved it, we were buzzing afterwards, (even though we failed our mission!) We did the ‘Breaking the law’ room, which with two people we definitely found it a challenge! The only thing I can fault is that I am 6 months pregnant, and despite the website FAQs saying “There is nothing in the room that needs to be physically demanding” i did actually find it hard, as there was a lot of crawling around on the floor involved, so this is something to look out for. The staff did take me in an alternative way at the start to avoid further crawling, but there was more physical activity needed once we were in. Apart from that a wonderful experience, and we wish we could do another one, but that’s the only room for two people, unless we find some friends to come with us!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Monkeymadkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, Owner at Exciting Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi there! We're so glad you loved the adventure. that being said we always take feedback on board, and your point re the room is well made. Though we make sure there is an alternative entry for people who, for whatever reason, find the way in to this one a challenge, when you are in that particular room there are a couple of things that can require a bit more physical effort. Its totally understandable that at 6 months pregnant that's a bit harder! As such, I've just changed the online description on that particular room to make sure future players are fully informed. Thanks again for the feedback, and thanks for playing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Went for my fathers birthday (as never know what to get him) it was excellent, different, we all throughly enjoyed the day

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Rioja03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair S, Manager at Exciting Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for a excellent review! I'm so glad to hear how much you all enjoyed your visit to us and it's lovely to hear that a birthday was spent with family having fun! We look forward to seeing you all again soon for more mysterious missions...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We took my daugther and 7 friends to the Shirley Escape Rooms for her 14th birthday treat. They split into 2 groups to compete against each other which worked really well as there are two rooms the same - "Cold War Spies" suitable for beginners - which they all were.
We sat downstairs with coffee and listened to the shrieks of laughter and cheers upstairs when they got each clue. They were only helped once and both groups managed to complete the task. We were able to watch the fun on the monitors too. Dressing up as spies afterwards for photos was hilarious and all in all they had an absolutely brilliant time, the staff were lovely and we would thoroughly recommend going. The girls all want to go again!

Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair S, Manager at Exciting Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you so much for visiting us and thank you for such a lovely review. It's great to hear how much fun everyone had and we hope we'll be able to welcome you all back soon for more tricky tasks and mysterious missions soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exciting Escapes also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Exciting Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing