We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
277
83
23
13
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
83
23
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews florence arms mercer collection superior suite lovely hotel parking permit visit southsea cooked breakfast mercer group gastro pub beautiful room on arrival close proximity l'occitane toiletries a ground floor room power shower quiet road a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

The Florence Road area of Southsea is a wonderful location. Our Superior Suite, on the 3rd floor was clean and spacious for a remodeled building. It contained a large double bed and couch (may have been a pull-out), and self-contained bathroom. There was only a bathtub, no shower. The water ran very slowly and at 7:30 AM was not overly hot; I guess at prime time the upper levels are compromised. There were only 2 bath sheets and one hand towel, no other towels or facecloths. With all windows open there was adequate airflow at night --- I expect it would be extremely hot in the summer months. Rooms need ceiling fans. The breakfast was very good. excellent variety and tasty.

Room tip: Our room on the 3rd floor was quite warm; choose rooms on lower levels. Ask if any have ceiling fans.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Somerset House Hotel is one of the Mercer Collection of boutique hotels located in close proximity in Southsea. We found Florence Road to be pretty quiet each night of our weekend stay. If you are a Park Runner it is less than 5 minutes walk to the start of Southsea Parkrun.

What put us of to begin with was a small and broken smokers bin on the wall immediately adjacent to the front door of the hotel. and a resident or member of staff smoking in the doorway Once inside the front door the interior decoration was a little underwhelming although the space was clean and tidy.

Our Superior Suite however was good being spacious, comfortable and clean. Our bathroom included a double sized bath and a pair of sinks.

The cooked breakfast was good - excellent bacon - but the meal let down a little by unadventurous selection of cereals and no pastries.

Off road parking is available for a number of guests on a first come first served basis. However there is street parking in the vicinity and the hotel do provide parking permits without additional charge.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, General Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you found the hotel street to be quiet and enjoyed your Superior Suite with Superking bed and double bath.
I'm sorry to hear a guest was smoking on arrival - unfortunately we have to provide bins for guests to smoke next to to ensure cigarette butts do not clog the road outside which is unpleasant for guests and our neighbours who we value. We cannot control where guests choose to stand to smoke as much as we would like to. A member of staff would certainly not be smoking in the entrance to the hotel.
I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast but sorry you did not enjoy the cereal choice - we offer 6 different cereals on our breakfast buffet and warmed croissants or waffles from the kitchen.
We hope to welcome you on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night while attending the Victorious Festival & couldn't have been more pleased with our choice.
Somerset House is part of the Mercer Group, who own 4 or 5 Hotels in close proximity to one another, they all appeared equally as good. Also own a pub (Florence Arms across the road) where we had lunch- very good.
Room was really comfy- we had an Executive King- and extremely clean. Couldn't fault it. Breakfast- included- is taken across the road. We were lucky enough to have wonderful weather, so ate outside. The breakfast menu was really lovely and it lived up to expectations.
Rooms are not budget price but we felt they were worth the money, especially with the breakfast included.
We will definitely stay with this group again should we visit Portsmouth in the future.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JacquieG45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Public Relations Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Jacquie,
Thank you for taking the time on leaving us a review and for writing such positive comments. We are glad you found the hotel with excellent clean rooms, comfy bed and our staff was helpful and friendly. We hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with. Thank you again and take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, so clean, fantastic bed! Great service, everyone so helpful. Would definitely recommend! The breakfast and waiting staff are superb. Will definitely be returning. So near Southsea seafront, so handy for the festival we attended, so quiet, even though it was so busy! Bath and fountain shower very welcome. Could do with bigger cups and more tea and sugar in the room.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank tanyaw477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Public Relations Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Staff were more than happy to serve you Tanya and I'm glad to hear it was enjoyable. It is lovely for us to hear you describe the hotel with “Superb Staff " as this is exactly how we aim to give. Thank you very much, we will pass on your message to our management and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here before our trip the next day to France from ferry port. It was clean and very comfy, well located for our travel to ferry port next day and we were met by very friendly and helpful staff.
A little bit confusing with reception being in another building across road and it was a shame that there is only on street parking but you are given a parking permit for duration of your stay.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 762candidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review I'm pleased you enjoyed the stay with us and our staff looked after you. Parking is free and a mix of on and off road. We are pleased we can offer free parking to our guests with the permits we provide. Do come back to us on your next trip to France - a call to reservations will ensure we find the best hotel in the collection for your needs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews