We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$105
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$111
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$138
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacrest Hotel(Portsmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveler rating
276
138
36
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
138
36
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetrol stationusb socketssofa bedhi expressmodern hotelplenty of free parkinglarge tvwe booked a family roomwalk in showerbreakfast was includedgood sizeblackout curtainsthe breakfast areabaked beansiron and ironing boardpark and ridegreat shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed as group of 11 - 3 families with children ranging from 8 to 15 years old.
The family rooms are superb. Spacious with 2 double beds and a separate seating area. They are modern and well equipped: tea coffee making facilities, great lighting options, iron and board, flat screen wall-hung tv and multiple choice of cushions. Rooms are sound-proofed so despite the hotel being full over the Easter bank holiday weekend it was quiet and peaceful which combined with comfy beds and blackout curtains provided for great sleep.

There is a huge number of parking spaces - free on hotel premises from here you can either drive to the town centre in 15 minutes or take a bus number 21 which goes every 30 minutes (bus stop in front of the hotel across the road) - faires are very reasonable c. £8 for family day ticket.

Staff are fantastic and great asset. Everyone was helpful at breakfast, dinner, for drinks and directions - nothing was a problem despite being so so busy. Big thank you for making our stay fabulous! The dining/socialising and reception areas are modern, colourful with plenty of seating and comfy - enticing you to relax. Free superfast wifi and newspapers.

Very good breakfast - cooked breakfast; fruit, pastries, yougurt, etc . Great coffee machine and soya milk for my allergy. Children tplastic tapaware available.

Breakfast is included in price offering excellent value. Drinks, snacks and dinner very reasonable.

We could not have asked for a better stay and we are already planning to come back. We travel very frequently and worldwide though I think some higher star rated hotels could learn from here.

Well done to the team and management.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
Thank DeniseGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolinesanders2016, Trainee Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Denise,
Thank you for such a lovely detailed review of your stay here.
I will pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.
Kind Regards
Susy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was staying here for two weeks whilst I was working. I was surprised at how modern/new the hotel was and how clean the rooms were! The staff were also absolutely friendly and lovely. Amazing breakfast in the morning - scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, baked beans, cereal, Greek yoghurt, fruit sauce, porridge, toaster machine for toasts, mini muffins (chocolate and raspberry) and croissants and coffee/tea/ hot choc on machine.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
Thank 5pri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolinesanders2016, Trainee Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.
I will pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team here.
We hope to welcome you back the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.
Kind Regards,
Susy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is north of Portsmouth but only 10 minutes drive so a handy location. It is a petrol station nearby and a Sainsbury’s which were both handy to have.
The breakfast was usual holiday inn express breakfast and did the job. There is a bar in the evening and also serves food although didn’t eat there.
Having free parking is an added bonus and the room was quiet and had a good sleep. There is a Holiday Inn and a HI express in town but we’re dearer and made the righty choice to stay out of town and save money.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Indytv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolinesanders2016, Trainee Guest service manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay here with us.
We hope to welcome you back the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.
Kind Regards,
Susy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location just off M27. Only 10 minutes from city centre and cheaper than staying in the city. Nice clean modern rooms. Good breakfast choice. Staff were helpful and friendly. So would recommend.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolinesanders2016, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear David P,

Thank you for rating our hotel 5/5,

How wonderful to hear that you found our bedrooms clean and modern and a good breakfast to start your day off,

We appreciate all feedback that we receive and the staff will be most pleased you found them friendly and that you would recommend our hotel :)

We hope to welcome you back when visiting the Portsmouth area again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just a single night on a flying visit to the area. Very convenient location within two minutes of the M27. Our request for the quietest room was heeded but the sound insulation is excellent throughout the hotel. The standard double room was pristine, recently refurbished, or so it looked, with all you can expect. Very comfortable.

Breakfast was substantial, with a good choice and well presented and cooked. We ate dinner in the bar. Choice is limited, but it makes no claim to be a la carte. My choice was fine for the modest price, but my wife's was dry and over cooked. The staff were helpfully apologetic when we gave them feedback and did their very best to compensate with free points on their club card and complementary drinks for our next visit. We will return when we are next in the area.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolinesanders2016, GSM at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Paul, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review, its great to see you had a pleasant stay here with us and that you were pleased with your room location and the style, its also great to see the breakfasts met your needs, i can see there was a slight issue with your wife's dinner apologies for that i will be sure to pass the comment on, we look forward to your return in the near future.
Many thanks
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews