We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pier(Portsmouth)
Free cancellation until 07/21
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$103
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Florence House(Portsmouth)
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 07/26
US$119
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

G! Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)
Free cancellation until 07/25
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveler rating
231
163
90
47
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
231
163
90
47
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomfrosted glassdyson fanmodern hoteltribute nighthuge tvfree callsgreat gymleisure facilitiessky tvsat navall mod consrooms are smallbusiness tripthe pubshower roomfantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Nice hotel, not the best experience in the restaurant though. Not sure about the fact the glass doors don't properly close in the bathroom and you use the 'electric frosting' for the glass partition. All very fancy but seems to have missed the point in some respects unless you get the premium rooms. Better lighting, a bathroom heated mirror would have made the experience better. Seemed like the money had been used up on fancy gadgets like the remote operated bathroom roller blind etc.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pbarha401940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Hi, pbarha401940,

Thanks for the review. Glad overall you thought the hotel was nice. I am sorry about your experience in the restaurant.

i hope you have not been put off from using us again.

Regards,

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Small rooms but great facilities, comfy beds. Very modern so not for everybody and clientele predominately young. Breakfast was adequate but eggs need improving - no poached available when we stayed and scrambled very bland and tasteless

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pammuscroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

so this was our second stay here. We are currently living abroad so when we come to visit family we stay in hotels and we chose to stay here again. The village hotel is perfect for us, great location, free parking,easy check in and really comfy beds. We stayed in a standard room for 4 nights. These are small rooms but for us using as a bolt hole its fine. We had a evening meal in the village pub when we arrived and this was nice and a good price.
my only gripe is this time we added breakfast and personally i dont think its anything special and you can get better breakfasts for less out and about. One day there wasnt enough staff so despite there being lots of tables available we couldnt be seated as they all still had dirty plates on them and clearly not enough staff to clear away. Its self service so its not as if the staff have to serve. We waited 15 mins then were finally seen and asked to take a seat while the tables were cleared. We gave up and went to macdonalds. However in their defence i will say this only happened once and there was an entire football team in there which they clearly were not prepared for. We will be booking here again for our next visit in the summer however we wont be adding breakfast this time. Oh and a loyalty scheme for returning customers may be a good idea

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Makeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

First impressions, new modern build. Had lunch in bar which was very modern and bar staff friendly. Lady in spa reception not so good. Interrogating us as soon as we walked in to view facilities and felt she did not want us to look round. Rooms small but OK for 1 night. Strange bathroom set up, with a glass panel. Not very private even with the frosting and 1 door does not frost. Lovely gentleman came up to sort out our blind issue. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as you don't get noise from the gym at the front. You need a car as nothing next to hotel. Port Solent only 5 min drive away and Gunwharf Quays about 12 min drive away. I got a great deal to stay here so join their email system to receive these offers.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My first and last night in a Village Hotel.
I grudgingly give 2 stars because the bed was very comfortable, the bed linen good, the hotel appeared clean and staff friendly. The list of 'buts' is extensive.
Tiny rooms, if you want to watch the oversized tv you, or at least 1 of you, will need to lie on the bed. No room for more than 1 chair.
No proper phone in the room so if you want anything you need to go down to reception.
All sorts of gizmos but no instructions. A mobile phone, a remote for 'room cast' whatever that might be. A remote in the bathroom to operate the blind and some other unspecified purpose.
A very cosy duvet - but much too warm as I could not persuade the room temp below19c - forgot to mention the fan set to heat room even further to 23c!. There appeared to be a cooling function but no obvious setting.
Hard luck if you expect to need the loo in the night- you either keep the light on all night which keeps the bed area lit up and the fan running all night or you wake your partner when you make your way there and turn on aforesaid light and fan.
Was not troubled by the garish decor.
Bar etc seemed very popular.
As you will see, I chose badly, this hotel was simply not suitable for me and we will not return.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank travguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews