We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,323)
Filter reviews
1,323 results
Traveler rating
1,127
154
28
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,127
154
28
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunken bath welcome drink underfloor heating on arrival small hotel wedding night breakfast was delicious lovely hotel little touches parking permit full english a wonderful stay sea front beautiful room florence arms gastro pub street parking
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,323 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2018

Trouble free stay at this hotel.
Free parking with on street permit and breakfast included.
Clean fresh room with large shower with an air con that in quiet enough to sleep with it on.
Yes I would return.

Room Tip: Room 8 on the top floor with stairs in the room to the shower room
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrispike2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at The Clarence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear Chris, we appreciate your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we definitely look forward to your return! For t he best rate, just book direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Stayed here to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary in Portsmouth and following good reviews on Tripadvisor, decided this seemed a good place to stay. We wasn't disappointed.
On arrival, my husband checked us in and was given a parking permit but unfortunately there was no spaces to be had (think the exceptional weather had something to do with that) and so we parked in the "on-site" parking bay. Check-in was very fast and was escorted to our room on the top floor.
We had booked a Superior King Room with shower and wasn't disappionted at all. It was a lovely room with a separate bathroom up a small flight of stairs. There was a kettle with free tea/coffee replensihed whenever we wanted; a bottle of water on the bedside cabinets.
The bathroom was very spacious with a walk-in shower; lots of free shower gels/shampoos etc. Bath towels were of a very high quality.
Bed was very comfortable and luckily the hotel is the only one in the chain that has air conditioning so we definitely choose the right hotel.
Breakfast is a la carte and there are also cereals/fruits etc. to help yourself too.
Fresh tea/coffee.
All staff that we came across were very pleasant and helpful and are a credit to the hotel.
When we return to Portsmouth we shall certainly seek to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mitchy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at The Clarence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your special anniversary stay.
It's great to hear that you took advantage of the facilities, such as the tea tray (which as you note, staff can replenish whenever needed, and can also offer herbal teas on request), L'Occitane toiletries, air conditioning, to name but a few!
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again, just remember to contact us directly for the best rate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Exceptional customer service, room great, only down side was that the air conditioning unit in our room quite noisy. Apart from that a lovely hotel and staff. Easy walking distance to the beach, enjoyed a good meal in the Florence arms Gastro pub. Breakfast was exceptional!

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at The Clarence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear Darren, thank you for your kind review.
We are very pleased that you were well looked after by The Clarence Team during your stay, we pride ourselves on our attentive service.
We thank you for bringing out attention to the air conditioning unit being unruly, we will certainly look into this and have this resolved.
Your positive comments have also been passed onto The Florence Arms.
For your next stay, remember to contact us directly for the best rate! We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Just stayed one night and found it to be very pleasant. The room was comfortable and the air con appreciated in the hot weather. All staff were very friendly and professional.
On site parking was appreciated although it is limited but I was lucky. I slept well as it is very quiet and the breakfast was excellent. My only reason for not giving 5 stars was the price, as a single traveller I thought it was quite expensive but then most of Portsmouth is the same.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled on business
Thank JoLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at The Clarence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Dear Jo, thank you for your review.
We are pleased to hear that we provided you with a comfortable stay despite the very hot weather!
Parking is a mixture of on and off road parking, so we find that there is space for everybody, but are glad that you were able to take advantage of an off road space.
We are sorry to learn that you were not completely happy with the price. As you state, our prices are competitive for the area, but for your next stay, we advise calling us directly so that we can offer you the best possible rate!
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2018

Unfortunately a trip to France was cancelled due to unforeseen circumstances
I contacted the hotel 10 days in advance to see if they would offer at least a partial refund. It they flatly declined. I would have thought such a popular hotel would have been able to rebook the room within this time

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Di G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Front Office Manager at The Clarence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm afraid we have absolutely no details or direct contact information regarding your booking and cannot work out who you maybe without details and dates. It's most unfortunate the trip to France was cancelled - though do see that you have left 4 reviews of French restaurants and a hotel right after this one...all the dates of dining and the stay are in July 2018?

We can only assume you have booked via a 3rd party and contacted the 3rd party regarding the cancellation and have received an automated response due to the terms you booked under. If you book a non refundable booking under an agent such as booking.com for example and try and cancel you will automatically be informed it is not possible to refund - the hotel is not involved. We will always discuss various circumstances with guests and try and work with them to come to a mutual solution when it's possible.

It's such a shame that rather than contact the hotel directly 10 days prior to arriving you have chosen to simply leave a damaging and unfair review online when we would have been glad to talk to you about the cancellation. Likely contacting us for help would have been quicker than leaving the review. We must stress that when anyone books a hotel room or flight or holiday or anything else like this and want to take advantage of non refundable rates or book with a 3rd party with no flexibility then it is important to accept the risks associated with that reservation. You should not book this type of reservation and then, when circumstances change, complain and attempt to damage a small business where its staff work tirelessly to maintain its good reputation and are judged on their performance via reviews too. It is really quite shameful to take such action and our whole staff team were most saddened to see such an unjust review when we checked today - especially when you note a cancelled trip that appears to not be the case looking at other reviews.

Lastly for any future guests reading it is always cheaper to book with a hotel directly and terms are also much more flexible. Why pay more with no flexibility when you can call knowledgeable staff or use a website that the hotel directly manage. Along with better rates and greater flexibility with cancelling you receive priority room allocation when possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews