We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tapas”

Wild Beer at Jessop House
Ranked #64 of 486 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Description: From our own range of barrel-aged and wild fermented beers to a wine list that showcases indigenous grape varieties from unexpected geographies and a menu that combines comfort and surprise, our ethos carries throughout the building. Everything in our Cheltonian 3 storey Georgian town house is rooted in quality and is determined to thrill your taste buds and challenge your perceptions of how flavours can interact.
Restaurant details
Description: From our own range of barrel-aged and wild fermented beers to a wine list that showcases indigenous grape varieties from unexpected geographies and a menu that combines comfort and surprise, our ethos carries throughout the building. Everything in our Cheltonian 3 storey Georgian town house is rooted in quality and is determined to thrill your taste buds and challenge your perceptions of how flavours can interact.
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

We stopped for a drink with friends and end up staying for lunch. Great choice of beers for the men. Who enjoyed sampling a few and the tapas were usual but delicious.

Thank antoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBJessopHouse, General Manager at Wild Beer at Jessop House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Hi Antoin,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review. So glad you enjoyed your food and beers and we look forward to welcoming you again soon :)
Kind regards,

Sophie Ahearne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2016

I was very excited when Wild Beer Co announced they were going to open their first bar/restaurant in Cheltenham, which was crying out for a modern 'craft beer' joint serving up great food. Wild Beer at Jessop House is very good. The beers are top-notch: they rotate through Wild Beer brews and always has a balance of sour beers and non-sours beers, and they have some great guest beers on. The beer is not cheap, but the beer they serve is very specialist, and they offer tasting flights and enthusiastic staff to help you taste a range of flavours and find something new and awesome. Recently had the food in the restaurant which was excellent, and I did a beer and food matching with friends this weekend which was fantastic! Would certainly recommend - it has become a regular hang out for me and my friends.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shandin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBJessopHouse, General Manager at Wild Beer at Jessop House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Hi Shandin,

We're so proud of what we are doing here at Jessop House and so happy to be different than anywhere in Cheltenham. So glad you enjoyed your beer and food pairing, it is definitely something we are going to be doing much more in the future.
Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again soon :)
Kind regards,

Sophie Ahearne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Very excellent beer & spirits in this amazing converted place. Great furniture, knowledgeable staff live music and brilliant food. £12 for two course Sunday brisket kunch.

Thank lem0nder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBJessopHouse, General Manager at Wild Beer at Jessop House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. The team are so passionate about what they do and I'm glad their knowledge-ability came across.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,

Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Great food. Sunday roast is a good value with helping portions of meat and veggies. Beer selection is large and tasty.

Burger is also great, nice chips.

Ribs are good. Salad with cashews and pomegranate seeds.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CourtneyandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBJessopHouse, General Manager at Wild Beer at Jessop House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Hi Courtney & Scott,
We are so proud of our Sunday roasts here at Jessop House and we like to make sure people are well fed! We slow cook some of the meat for up to 14 hours and its definitely worth the wait :) Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, I have passed your compliments onto the chefs.
See you again soon.
Kind regards,

Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Knowledgeable and enthusiastic staff.
Great decor.
One of the best eggs Benedict (once it was made with bacon and not the ox on the menu) I have ever had. My husbands breakfast was the best ever he said.
Lovely coffee and help yourself to 3 different types of water.
Loved it.

Thank foodygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBJessopHouse, General Manager at Wild Beer at Jessop House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Hi,
We agree the eggs Benedict is to die for! So glad your husband enjoyed his breakfast too!
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. See you for brunch again soon!
Kind regards,

Sophie Ahearne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Beer at Jessop House also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Wild Beer at Jessop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing