We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant and good tapas and even a vegan menu”

Cosy Club Cheltenham
Ranked #65 of 477 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Price range: US$10 - US$21
Description: At Cosy Club, we serve up a sense of being somewhere special with a hint of nostalgia. Think mansion splendour meets village hall eccentricity. From a lazy breakfast to family lunch or a night out in your glad rags, we're set apart by the character of our team, the elegance of our design and the quality of our food and drink.
Restaurant details
Description: At Cosy Club, we serve up a sense of being somewhere special with a hint of nostalgia. Think mansion splendour meets village hall eccentricity. From a lazy breakfast to family lunch or a night out in your glad rags, we're set apart by the character of our team, the elegance of our design and the quality of our food and drink.
Reviewed August 21, 2017

Found this place on the web and booked for dinner on saturday evening, nice and busy and a good atmosphere. Staff friendly and helpful. Had the vegan menu as on diet trial. Very nice had 3 tapas dished to share as a starter and all good, bread nice and portions not too big! Then had vegan burger thought it migth be a bit dry but wasn't at all, coleslaw good and really good sweet potato fries. Didn't have desert as too full, drinks- had really nice gin and fever tree. Definitely will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EdsMom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 23, 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us online, it really means a lot to the team!
So glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you along again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 176 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

Went here for lunch on a weekday with friends. It's really lovely inside, decorated elegantly with interesting things on the wall such as paintings and a roll of honour of university students. There are lots of old board games by the bar too which was a nice touch.

On arrival, we asked for a table of 4 to be told we'd have to wait in the bar for 15 minutes. The restaurant certainly wasn't full, but we assumed the empty tables must have been reserved. The waitress took our name, then told us to come and find her in 15 minutes - in most establishments, they would come and find you to tell you your table is ready, not the other way around. We seated ourselves at the nearest table so we'd be seen easily by her, but nevertheless it was still up to us to chase her up when after 20 minutes, we noticed other people coming in and going straight into the restaurant.

We were seated and after a while, a drinks order was taken with the food order. We waited a long time for even the drinks to arrive - by this time we had been in the building for 50 minutes. Drinks arrived, quickly followed by the food, with one order incorrect and one missing an item, although both issues were rectified quickly. We were then asked if we'd like to order more drinks, despite our first drinks order having literally just arrived. It seemed to go from no service whatsoever to asking if we needed anything else at two-minute intervals. The restaurant was very quiet by this point - the tables which were empty when we came in were never occupied and did not have reserved signs on either, so I don't know why we were made to wait.

It looks like they have good offers on in the evenings, and the food was tasty, so I'd consider returning, but perhaps I'd pre-book or allow a lot of extra time for my visit.

Thank vc1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review, looking at your feedback it looks as though you were on a wait list for a seating time rather than a availability issue.
As we make most of our food from scratch here it is sometimes necessary to put a small wait on the door to allow the kitchen to cook for a rush of guests who may have just been seated. ( unfortunately this is often the case at lunch time in Cheltenham ) We try to only sit the amount of guests that we can look after properly at one time as we are very much guest driven and want you to have the best time and attentive service.
The host would have booked you in for the next available sitting which is usually in 10/15 mins but can go up to 30/40mins, some guests choose to shop outside and return which is why we ask you to come to the host, this also is valuable if guests decide not to wait and does not let us know. I hope that explains a lot of reasoning for you as its important to me that you know why we have these waits in place.
I'm Really glad that you enjoyed your meals and would really love you to visit again to enjoy our evening setting, of course booking is always advised :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017

Visiting Cheltenham for the day and found this place for something to eat mid afternoon. Very impressive decor and smartly laid out - met by a very welcoming young lady who offered us either a dining table or easy chairs, Chose a table as we fancied something to eat. Decided to go for some tapas which proved to be an excellent choice and was very tasty. A bit of a distraction was the constant procession of workmen going back and forward through the bar. However at the point of finishing the tapas we began to feel we were maybe in the way? Candles were being laid out on all the tables around us (4.30 pm) and our bill was laid on the table as soon as our plates were cleared ! No-one asked if we would like sweet/coffee? Within a few minutes a young girl came to collect payment when we hadn't even put the money down! Time to go!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jaggyjim666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 15, 2017

Hi Thanks for your review, the feedback is always good and enables us to try harder to make things better. Unfortunately we have no back door to the kitchen and do ask our drivers to come in the early morning so i will be following up on why we seemed to have people in at this time. We do lay the tables for evening after lunch before the daytime waitresses go home as our bookings start as early as 5pm most evenings and i'm sorry if this made you feel uncomfortable in any way. We do bill down immediately after dining however the waitress should have made a point of letting you know more drinks are no problem at all and certainly offered coffee and pudding, so i will follow this up with her. This is mainly due to us being a cinema site and feedback that guests were having to ask for the bill which they were unhappy about. We certainly will try to find a happy medium here and i will have a good look over your visit to try and make things a little more comfortable. I'm glad you enjoyed your Tapas as this is very popular and we take every bit of pride and passion in our food and service. Thanks again and see you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017

Went for a meal at 5.30 with two friends. Izabella the waitress was so welcoming & showed us straight to our seat. We enjoyed a lovely meal with great service. Izabella checked on us several times to ensure we were enjoying our meal & had sufficient drinks. Look forward to going again soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 13, 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us, it really means a lot :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

Went to cosy club for a birthday meal with a friend. We were sat by the stairs and there was an enormous cold draft. Food was good, burgers appear to be the signature thing here so we chose that. Lots of different options and you can basically build your own which is great. The blue cheese was very tasty. Took a while to arrive but the portion size was good. Value for money wasn't bad, especially with the Monday offer of a drink and a dessert for £5 when you buy any main (included a cider).

The service was a bit off though. We were really rushed into ordering, the waitress literally came back at minute-long intervals even after we explained we needed longer due to being busy catching up. Then as soon as we ordered it seemed difficult to get hold of a server! There was a young fair-headed gentleman who appeared to be in charge and spent half his time sat on a laptop at the bar and talking with other servers. We were not asked if our food was ok (the burger meat itself was actually a little dry). Afterwards we sat with the bill for over 10 minutes so I finally got his attention and he came over and said "I assume you're done here?" in a rather rude manner. The service here needs to be less about staff acting and looking trendy and more about attending to the customers. Several other tables weren't impressed either. Wouldn't rush to go back.

Thank 578mjbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 10, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, it is really useful to see where some staff may not be hitting our usual high standards. This is very unusual for our restaurant and i have been looking at the footage to try to see what happened here. I believe you may have visited on the 24th but if you would kindly contact me with your booking name i can investigate this fully.
warm regards
Beverley
GMCheltenham@cosyclub.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosy Club Cheltenham also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Cosy Club Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing