We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveler rating
76
112
78
37
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
112
78
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view single room sea front parking voucher old town the underground car park top floor comfy bed town centre tea coffee short break full english breakfast room night stay breakfast was excellent lovely room balcony
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

I chose a sea view room and it was small but comfortable and did indeed have a good view of the sea. My room was clean but it was let down by dirty walls and flies in the room. The hotel is well located for the town and train station etc. and the staff that I encountered were friendly but didn't seem thrilled to be there. Hastings is a strange town, the old part is lovely but the newer part is run down and depressing with a lot of street drunks. I think the price of the hotel is ok but not great compared to other places I've stayed for the same price.

Room Tip: Sea views are probably better.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SDUinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Top floor twin room with sea view, nice and clean, some of the light bulbs did not work but all okay. The room had a TV and fridge. There is a very small lift which is slow but does the job. Reception staff greeted us with a smile. Decided to use Wetherspoons just round the corner for breakfast

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We went to lansdowne for first time it was so lovely.. nice location we had a good view of the sea. A couple of bad things was the bed felt like we was sleeping on a wood as it was so hard and shower was not good. Apart from that it was so nice to get away from everything. Breakfast was so good we had to walk up and down so many staircases and some times the lights went off.. we r thinking about going back next year

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank clareandy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Recently stayed at The Lansdowne on a bed & breakfast basis.We were on the 4th floor in a room facing towards the town. Stayed Thursday-Saturday in this very clean & comfortable room. The bed was very comfortable & immaculate shower room, tastefully decorated & modern. The room had tea & coffee making facilities & a decent sized tv.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice on the menu.
Staff were helpful & informative & even gave us a parking voucher to use in the overnight underground car park which is directly outside the hotel, this voucher saved us £8 a night!
Our first time in Hastings & although we recommend The Lansdowne unfortunately we would not return to Hastings!
The town on the whole was very tired & run down, such a shame.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mayhall68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

This is an OK place to stay but it's the little things that let it down. We stayed in room 1 and the noise of people constantly coming and going kept us awake at night. The beds were like boards and the pillows were uncomfortable. We also found the bathroom very small. It was difficult opening the wardrobe as the bedside table was in a poor position. The breakfast was OK but there was more tea selection than fruit, a sad basket of apples each day. We booked two rooms as a family of four and was separated, one room ground floor and one room third floor. It was a shame that nobody had thought about putting us together. It's an OK place to stay but it's not really for us as a family.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank sarahaliceeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews