We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't find a Shelter like this anywhere else..... Brighton Essential”
Review of Shelter Hall

Shelter Hall
Get food delivered
Ranked #281 of 1,185 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Description: Shelter Hall is Brighton's seafront food market and bar. Featuring seven unique kitchen led by Sussex chefs, well-stocked bar featuring local craft beers, wines by the glass and expertly mixed cocktails, and a weekly line-up of live music.
Restaurant details
Description: Shelter Hall is Brighton's seafront food market and bar. Featuring seven unique kitchen led by Sussex chefs, well-stocked bar featuring local craft beers, wines by the glass and expertly mixed cocktails, and a weekly line-up of live music.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous service from "The Turkish One" for our Tasting Experience at Shelter Hall with wine pairing. We opted for a more leisurely pre-booked offering upstairs where we didn't need to order via the app which made our first experience at The Shelter Hall far more relaxed but wouldn't hesitate to return for a more on the cuff order at table via app visit. Not usually a huge fan of messy shell on prawns but those served by the team at "Caught" were as Rick Stein described Scallops - "Sweeties" , huge fans of the generous VIP Amalfi Tavola Di Affettati and the Ox Block Steak, God like Corn on the Cob and the most melt in the mouth potatoes, we finished with a Creme Brulee Tart from Tart - Love Creme Brulee and love Creme Brulee Tart along with an Espresso Martini. Such a fabulous vibe with really super people especially "The Turkish One" and Olivia who made our afternoon very special. This is no tourist trap, this is for everyone and we cannot wait to return for more naughtiness on the beach.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelter Hall, Marketing at Shelter Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your lovely review. Thrilled to hear you enjoyed the Taste of Sussex menu, as it allows you to try a little bit of everything from our food partners. Look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived 1 minute after our reservation and the front of house manager said he’d had given our table away. Made a fuss about having to find us a new table despite there being 5 or 6 tables around us free the whole time we were sat down.

Date of visit: May 2021
2  Thank LOM_London26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelter Hall, Marketing at Shelter Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Really sorry to hear this - could you please email hello@shelterhall.co.uk, so I can look into?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

....but just not here, please! Outdoor seating area is crowded and the pub garden picnic benches are uncomfortable after half an hour or so. But then again, this doesn't seem to be a venue which encourages its customers to linger.
After the usual hassle with connection and the dreaded QR codes, we eventually collected our crab sandwiches, ordered from Caught.. They were very ordinary....embarrassingly so. Just a dollop of mush slapped between two slices of processed wholemeal. No attempt to add a bit of garnish to give the sandwiches a touch of "plate appeal"... I mean, even I can make a better crab sandwich than that! The price wasn't ordinary, 'though: £11.50 per sandwich. Ouch.
We've waited a long, long time in Brighton for Shelter Hall to open, and we were promised the best food from the best of the city's chefs. On this showing, it wasn't worth the wait.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gileanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table in advance and glad we did as there was quite a long queue waiting for tables. Staff are very friendly and service is great. Had a couple of dishes from @crabshack- our fav Worthing restaurant. Super clean and organised. Very good drinks selection and all table service.
Can't wait to return when the indoor seating opens.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank JulesMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelter Hall, Marketing at Shelter Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review, look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Food great. Reasonable prices. Great concept and nice decor inside. It's pretty much self service so no concerns around that, and the fact you can order elements from the various stalls is a great idea. A couple of gripes from our visit. Firstly ordering from the Web page was a bit fiddly, the descriptions were a bit hit and miss and the website wasn't great, but we managed in the end. The other gripe was the food didn't come all together, so we had sides getting cold whilst we waited for one of the mains, from a different stall. I had to go ask for it in the end. We eventually got a message to say it was ready an hour and 40 mins after, but it was OK, we still enjoyed the food. It will be great once the place can open fully

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank carlsZ9735AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelter Hall, Marketing at Shelter Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience with the food delivery. The food is all prepared from different kitchens, so it will always be ready at different times but you should not have an excessive wait for it. We have made a big change in our operations and are now delivering all food to table, which has helped to solve some of the issues with the ordering process. Hopefully you'll return for a smoother experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shelter Hall also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Shelter Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.