We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, slow service, get the tacos”
Review of Halisco

Halisco
Ranked #36 of 1,201 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Description: Halisco is a Mexican tapas restaurant located in the heart of Brighton serving authentic food with a modern twist, a selection of margaritas and tequilas. Rated #1 best Mexican restaurant in Brighton on trip advisor, we aim to give our customers an evening to remember, with funky music and a chilled but upbeat atmosphere. Halisco is the perfect night for any occasion!
Restaurant details
Description: Halisco is a Mexican tapas restaurant located in the heart of Brighton serving authentic food with a modern twist, a selection of margaritas and tequilas. Rated #1 best Mexican restaurant in Brighton on trip advisor, we aim to give our customers an evening to remember, with funky music and a chilled but upbeat atmosphere. Halisco is the perfect night for any occasion!
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Loved the atmosphere at the restaurant, very busy on the bank holiday weekend. Ordered a few small plates with beers, then tacos. Small plates were all nice, but quite pricey for portion size - though could tell was all made in house.

Tacos were excellent. Service was slow, and had to remind the waitress of orders once or twice.

We would not have come back until we tasted the tacos, still was very busy, and evening was soured a bit by the smell of weed from patrons outside, which the staff did not notice or confront the other patrons on.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

Great place for some real, tasty Mexican food and cocktails. Want much we didn’t have off the menu but the corn ribs, chorizo scotch egg, Jalapeños with feta and pork belly tacos were the highlights. Defo will be back.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

Visited tonight. Loved the atmosphere, there was buzz to the place. The team really looked after us even though it was busy. Food was lovely, we tried the Sweetcorn ribs. Duck tacos, beef brisket and fried potatoes. All were great.
Loved the playlist as well!
Thanks for looking after us guys.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank golfingbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

Warning others, do not go. We asked if we could use groupon voucher, was told no, they don’t do on Saturdays. We then checked groupon and it clearly stated between 12-5, they said if we put cash they will do the same deal. We said we wanted to do the 6 plates for 4 people. The plates are tiny and just about fed 1, let alone 4. They let us get tacos and said that would be the same as two small dishes but they only served 3 tacos when there was 4 of us. They then tried to charge us extra for tortillas and dips, which we did not have. When we asked them to take off the bill they had the cheek to not be happy with us. The bill was over £100 for 4 small (very small) plates and 3 very small tacos. We had margaritas that were £10 each and served in a tiny tumbler. Would never return. This place is also more of a cafe then a restaurant and the toilet leaves a lot to be desired. Wouldn’t return if you paid me

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

Absolutely on point dinner!
The staff here were kind enough to accept a last minute Groupon with only a day to go
The food was awesome and the margaritas so authentic they were even rimmed with tajine spice mix!
The ceviche was authentic and fresh
Sombreros off to you guys!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank lucasbL2111NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halisco also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Halisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.