We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good For Lunch”
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Ranked #19 of 59 Restaurants in Sherborne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Set in cosy surroundings, The White Hart is the perfect retreat for those celebrating a special occasion, wanting a leisurely lunch or those just wishing to quench their thirst with our fine selection of drinks. You will find a diverse menu offering high quality traditional British food. The creative special's board and our daily offers using fresh local and seasonal produce ensure our customers return to us time and again. With warm and friendly staff, the whole team look forward to welcoming you soon.
Reviewed 27 August 2018

On our first afternoon in Sherborne we had lunch at the White Hart. Food was good and well presented and there was a good selection of well kept beers. Good choice of eating and drinking areas and good service.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank rasenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White-Hart-Sherb, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018

The front of the pub is bedecked with flower baskets, and inside it was cool and full of character with its flagstones and period features. The vegetarian risotto was delicious and my friend reckoned the scampi and chips was a large portion. They were served pleasantly and the place was full when we left to wander down the street and admire the buildings.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank marg826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White-Hart-Sherb, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Wow, what a great review! We are glad too hear that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2018

At last........I got to have another roast diner at the White Hart.
Couldnt fault it, just how i like it.......and washed down with a lovely pint of Fursty Ferret.

Staff were there usual friendly and attentive selves.

I would certainly recommend it but you may need to get in early or book.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shaun E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White-Hart-Sherb, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it's always a pleasure to see you when you're back from your travels! We look forward to the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Have been here a few times and the landlady is just so rude, for no reason. The bar staff can't summon a smile between them.

I wish I could say something nice about the food, but I can't.

We won't be visiting again. There are far better pubs in Sherborne with friendly staff, cheaper drinks and better atmosphere.

Date of visit: July 2018
6  Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White-Hart-Sherb, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we always appreciate feedback both good and constructive as it helps us improve our offer.

We are truly disappointed to hear that you feel our team are unhappy and do not smile, our service is the core of our business. Similarly, we are surprised to hear that you felt the landlady is rude.

If you had included details of what food you have tried I would address your comments, however you haven't. As you can see from our other reviews the food we offer is held to a high standard along with our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We visited here on Sunday for lunch after reading that The White Hart offered gluten free options on their menu (2 of the party were coeliacs).

I rang in advance to discuss our dietary requirements and was given assurances about what options were gluten free and after explaining that one of us was also vegetarian the chef offered to prepare a stuffed butternut squash which wasn't listed on the menu.

The waitress on the day was very friendly, and knowledgeable about coeliac disease.

The food was ok overall although one gripe was that we were told after we'd ordered that they had run out of GF gravy despite the fact they knew we were coming in advance, meaning my 7 year olds roast was dry.

The food was reasonably well priced if a little on the high side.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank skybluelee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White-Hart-Sherb, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
I'm sorry to hear that your experience on this occasion was a mixed one, I assure we that we strive to achieve a much higher standard and will be investigating why there was no GF gravy available for your party.
However, I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service from our waitress, we will ensure that this feedback is passed along.
We do hope that you decide to return as you will find that you have a much better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

Blandford Forum, Dorset
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing