We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Booking.com
US$135
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$130
View deal
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$135
PricelineUS$135
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,911)
Filter reviews
4,911 results
Traveler rating
2,604
1,483
497
190
137
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,604
1,483
497
190
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art deco mirabelle restaurant brian robbins sea view sister hotel next door outdoor pool christmas party sunday lunch public areas course dinner lovely hotel the cliff car park night break waiting staff sea front short break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 4,911 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for a quick weekend break and the hotel was recommended through a friend of a friend. On the positive side the sea view was exceptional and we paid extra for that and we were not disappointed. The staff were good but the hotel is very tired, it’s a bit outdated and needs a good refurb so don’t expect too much. The rooms are ok-ish but the beds are awful and that’s an understatement!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank michaelfF3257AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbie Campbell, Other at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear michaelfF3257AK,

I am delighted that you were pleased with so many aspects of your stay.

Your comments regarding refurbishments are really appreciated. As I am sure you are aware, the hotel industry is facing extremely difficult challenges due to the ongoing pandemic and previous lockdown with no income for many months.
However, please be assured, we have a robust refurbishment plan and this will accelerate once the current challenges are behind us.

I am pleased you enjoyed our wonderful location and the staff service and hope you will return to stay with us

Kind regards,

Abbie Campbell
Duty Manager

The Cumberland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2021

Must be one of Bournemouth's smarter places to eat. Nice menu although we were suprised by the cover charge, didn't seem to get anything for it.
The sides were a good selection and main courses from the standard burgers and chips through to tuna steaks and more. Armchair seats which mean you are a bit low for eating dinner.
Overall it's good,a friendly place although a bit on the pricey side.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Londoneyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbie Campbell, Other at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Londoneyez,

Your comments are really appreciated as the team are working so hard in these challenging times to ensure we still deliver the best guest experience possible.

Please let us know when booking next time to mention you would prefer a higher table and we will be able to arrange this


Kind regards,

Abbie Campbell
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

We have stayed here several times pre Covid and the service and food have always been excellent. This time the hotel was considerably more expensive. We paid the room upgrade and the room was excellent. Ocean front. But at a price. We booked the DBB package. The first night’s dinner at the Mirabel Restaurant was terrible. This was the set meal with the pate with some lettuce looking sad and drab, possibly left out too long. No toast was served with this. The roast pork belly inedible. The apple crumble had no crumble and the cheese had one dead end of hard cheese plus soggy biscuits. The service was not at all as it had been in the past when mostly Eastern European exceptionally trained waiting staff had loyally worked at the hotel. This is of course the result of Brexit rather than Covid. We immediately complained to the hotel’s duty manager whose reaction was also immediate. She permitted us to eat at the Ventana a la carte restaurant for the next two nights instead at no upgraded cost. She told us that the head chef had been working at the Mirabel kitchen that Monday night and that he had been there for a long time. I established that the kitchen and chefs for the Ventana Restaurant are different. This was evident when we ate at the a la carte Ventana the next two nights. The food was superb. The restaurant was managed extremely well by an Italian and German superbly trained female staff and I would highly recommend that guests pay the upgrade to have a good meal at this hotel at the Ventana. If the hotel is charging so much more for rooms and food then they have to up their game otherwise they will lose loyal customers like us. Currently the hotel food is not value for money if you buy the package. Rooms were very clean and room cleaning staff did their very best to turn the rooms ‘round making these ‘COVID proof’.

Room tip: Make sure you book directly through the hotel’s own website to get the parking free. Otherwise you pay £12 per day parking.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank foxurs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbie Campbell, Other at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2021

Dear Foxurs1,

Thank you for you review and your comments are noted.

I am delighted that you were pleased with so many aspects of your stay.

With regard to your restaurant experience, I can only apologise if this was not up to your expectations. I am glad the management team were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade, for you and your friend's room, for the remainder of your stay and that you thoroughly enjoyed this.

I am pleased that overall you really enjoyed your trip and will be passing your feedback over to the team.

We hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards,

Abbie Campbell
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

This was the worst 4 star hotel l have ever stayed in , from the poor quality rooms to the food and service.

Booked four nights in Aug 2021 , was looking forward to our stay after being locked away for so long time .

Paid £320 per night for a box room that had dead fly’s laying on the window seals when checking in . After having a meal in the restaurant on the first night l had to complain to the hotel manger about the condition of the room and the very very poor quality of the food serviced in the restaurant. He changed our room to one on the first floor which was much bigger but still of poor quality no toilet rolls or tea and coffee which we had to ask for.

Had no sleep for the next two nights due to neon lights outside our room that shined into our room all throughout the night even with the curtains pulled

Checked out after a three night stay of four nights , just wanted to get out of there

The place should be closed down or the star rating reduced to two star if that.

Could say a lot about the H&S of the hotel but don’t wish to put it into writing, this should be looked at professionally be the right people

All the above is my opinion, wasn’t going to write this but never received a reply from a mail l sent to the hotel manager regarding our stay.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank terrypZ6228OJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbie Campbell, Other at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2021

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback.

I can see that you have been in discussion with the management of the hotel, who have acknowledge and taken your comments onboard.

I am glad you have received your refund for the night you did not stay. Alongside this you have accepted our offered of a complimentary night stay with an upgrade to our Ventana Grand Cafe restaurant.

The team and I look forward to your return and thank you for providing us with the opportunity to reinstate your confidence

Kind regards,

Abbie Campbell
Duty Manager

The Cumberland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2021

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel and am at a loss as to why it's rated 4 star.

The bedroom with its super king size bed was very tried. The windows did not fully open or close, there was mould growing inside the double glazing unit, the curtains had mould along the bottom, paint was peeling off the wall and wall paper was torn. The mattress needed replacing, it was lumpy and uncomfortable. The shower dripped constantly and there's was barely any water pressure washing your hair took an age.

The room was only made up only once during our stay, towels, tea, coffee etc were not replenished.

We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was delicious service here was very good apart from one occasion. I asked for my coffee to be replenished and was told by the waiter he was busy!!!! Very impolite more training needed in customer service.

I feel that the hotel would run smoother with an increase in trained staff. The bedrooms need attention and cleaned and made up daily.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank slavelle57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbie Campbell, Other at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Dear slavelle57,

Thank you your feedback and constructive comments. Your points will definitely be taken into consideration and investigated further.

I wish you had mentioned the issues you had found with your room as we would have been able to move you elsewhere or have out onsite maintenance resolve this for you.

I apologise that your room was not serviced daily and will be speaking to the relevant head of department. As a standard we service all rooms daily, with new towels, tea, coffees etc unless you had let reception know you did not want us to enter or you had a do not disturb sign on your door throughout your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards,

Abbie Campbell
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews