We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Beach washed up...”
Review of WestBeach

WestBeach
Ranked #152 of 789 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: WestBeach is your ideal venue for fine dining on the beachfront. Just a stone’s throw from the Bournemouth beach promenade, we pride ourselves on fresh, local shellfish and seafood, winning accolades from The Times, Sunday Times and Waitrose Good Food Guide in the process. All year round the bright, open-plan interior dining room is bathed in sunlight. In summer we open up our al fresco dining terrace and deck area for more casual drinking. We serve a lunch and dinner menu based around classic British seafood and shellfish, using local fishermen, locally sourced produce, and our exquisite desserts are prepared in house. We offer an extensive wine list of New World and signature European labels, and host elegant entertainment events throughout the year – from jazz evenings to art exhibitions. Come and enjoy outstanding service and a view that’s hard to beat. Dogs are welcome in one half of the restaurant
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

Let’s book West Beach for dinner on Bank holiday Monday night we said weeks ago....now home via Tesco for cheese and wine as my choices left me starving...£9.50 for a three small prawn starter followed by a pile of vile spidery lettuce with three minuscule bits of octopus that had never seen a grill despite the description on the menu ...just the stuff you’d get in Tesco or M&S...the chefs had nothing to do with the ‘out of a packet’ apology on a plate...yes...they took it off the bill...we left £72 lighter and wondered why we bothered...a heads up to our local gang....DONT BOTHER!

Date of visit: April 2021
3  Thank robinhV29PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 2,219 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

Having just come out of lock down and things get back to normal we ventured out to Westbeach for Saturday night dinner
Booking is essential, we booked 4 weeks in advance you must book as a number of proposed diners were turned away who had not reserved a table
We ate at 6.00pm and had our table for just over 2 hours which was sufficient
The food was very good we had starters and main with drinks prior and during the meal
Sea bass was great and the risotto was also good
The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble
We have been to Westbeach before and will return again in the not to distant future

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank 588nigelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

Tourist trap sums this ‘bar’ up. Seats are made from pallets with a thin pad or a few rickety old cheap pub benches. Shabby chic... no just shabby.
Drinks are predictably pricey due to the location and you have to order through an app, which adds another 5% on top.
Oh if you need the loo - surely you use the restroom in the main westbeach ... no no, off to the public toilets on the seafront - nice!
So if you want the ambience of the beach with a drink looking through a scaffold and picket fence, it’s the place for you.
If you don’t just get a couple of tins from Tesco and sit in front of the westbeach and have an unobstructed view with the same amenities.

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank SixtySpeedTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 May 2021 via mobile

The Westbeach as a bar with seating in and out side also you can sit outside and take view of the sea and the sand and even watch people go down on the zip wire

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank BigPeter69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 May 2021

Had the best seafood I’ve had for a long time,went for a long awaited girls lunch,we shared all the different starters,which saved having to making decisions from the mouth watering choice!! Then l just couldn’t resist the lobster,which was amazing, I enjoyed every mouthful. Don’t even consider anywhere else,the service was exceptional and Claudine was so friendly, nothing was too much trouble,worth every penny.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 248lorih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WestBeach also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to WestBeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.