We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southbank Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Richwood(Torquay)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$141
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$107
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yardley Manor Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Torquay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$55
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
131
20
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
20
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbelgrave roadextra suppliesfamily roomtidy roomten minute walkselection of cerealstown centreflights of stairstravel cotyogurtbeds were comfortablea lovely stayplenty of choiceground floorsingle roomfull english breakfastfriendly owners
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 158 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2017

Just returned from the southbank dec 28th. Hotel is very nice. very clean and we had no problems at all.. room was spacious. with tea. coffee etc. Breakfast was lovely and cooked very nice... . Andy the owner was very helpful with lots of infomation about torquay and where to visit.. we will definatley return next year...

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

We have just had our 4th visit to the Southbank and yet again it was brilliant. Marie and Ian are the nicest couple you could ever wish to meet. Over the years we have become friends and it feels like you are leaving friends when you go. Always a warm friendly welcome when you arrive. Marie does the best breakfast in Torquay, sets you up for the day. Although it is on a main road, we have never been disturbed with the noise. We always book room 9, as this is large and feels spacious. My husband normally has problems sleeping when away, but we always get a good nights sleep at the Southbank.

Room Tip: Room 9, lovely and large with a comfortable bed
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

Ian and Marie made us feel welcome. We had room 15 which is a family room which was nice and clean and nicely decorated, The room had a double bed and two singles, a nice on suite with shower cubicle sink and Wc. The only negative I would mention is that the room was on the top floor up 4 flights of stairs. The breakfast was really nice and Ian would accomadate any special requests. The hotel is on a fairly busy road, but the noise from traffic was not that bad. A ten minute walk will bring you to Torquay harbour and the main shops. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cb-ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

We had to book here last minute since our original choice of hotel would not let us stay with our 4 year old daughter (literally booked day of). Our mishap was meant to be because this place was perfect! Tidy room, delicious breakfast, and friendly/inviting atmosphere. We will definitely be returning customers!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile

Marie & Ian have become friends after the many years that myself and mother have returned to south bank hotel . We return year after year because we find it extremely good value for money, friendly , spotlessly clean and the breakfast that they supply are both varied and delicious . We will be back again very soon

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews