We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
US$143
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (846)
Filter reviews
846 results
Traveler rating
806
36
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
806
36
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscockington villagemarmaladeriviera roomgarden roomwater meadowsfamily suitewarm welcomehome from homelocal produceperfect hostssea frontbiscuitssuperior roomon arrivalshort walktorquay centresecond to none
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 846 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018

In the 3 days that we spent in the Charterhouse at the end of May 2018, everything from the warm welcome, the quiet yet great location, to the very affectionate cats and the dog all fell in love with the place.

Outstanding was the breakfast with the fresh homemade fruit juices and as well as on personal requests was received. In the evening you could enjoy the various terraces and the lovingly furnished common room with great views. Thanks again to Lisa & Christophe for the great time.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa g, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Harald for the wonderful review, we are so glad you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Excellent hotel lovely room, breakfast was one of the best we have had,the owners very friendly and most helpful delightful setting ,will certainly return in the future and would recomend to my friends and family *I***.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nigelwetherall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa g, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the great review, we are very grateful and are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Lisa & Christophe are so welcoming and friendly. The house so cosy and clean.
I've visited many times, with my 10 year, my 80 year Mum, and my Toy poodle.
All of us love this place, so close to seafront, town ( restaurants, pubs and shops) and the very quaint and historical - Cockington village.
Can't wait to go back to Torquay so we can stay there again.
The breakfast is Awesome!

Room Tip: Extensive choice of rooms, all great depending on your needs. Discuss with Lisa she'll help place you in the idea room.
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CRSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa g, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Ceri for taking the time to leave a review we appreciate your feedback and are looking forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely guest house for 4 days - nothing too much trouble , spotless room with a breakfast to die for , even provided black pudding for guests from the north !!! Ideal location - quiet but only a 10 min stroll to either Torquay or Paignton even nearer for the quaint village of Cockington

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dave60golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa g, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the wonderful comment, we are so glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Charterhouse for 4 nights.it is perfectly situated, just far enough out of town but easy to walk in. We had a lovely sunny room with a sea view. The room was spotlessly clean with a well stocked tea tray including fresh milk. Breakfast was beautiful with local produce used and everything cooked to perfection. The jams were all homemade and were so good we bought some to bring home. Lisa and Christophe were the perfect hosts.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa g, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback, we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews