We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ashleigh House(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astor House Apartments(Torquay)
US$260
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$112
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveler rating
816
37
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
816
37
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscockington villagemarmaladeriviera roomgarden roomwater meadowsfamily suitewarm welcomehome from homelocal produceperfect hostssea frontbiscuitson arrivalsuperior roomlocal areatorquay centresecond to none
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 857 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Lisa & Christophe are so welcoming and friendly. The house so cosy and clean.
I've visited many times, with my 10 year, my 80 year Mum, and my Toy poodle.
All of us love this place, so close to seafront, town ( restaurants, pubs and shops) and the very quaint and historical - Cockington village.
Can't wait to go back to Torquay so we can stay there again.
The breakfast is Awesome!

Room Tip: Extensive choice of rooms, all great depending on your needs. Discuss with Lisa she'll help place you in the idea room.
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CRSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa g, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Ceri for taking the time to leave a review we appreciate your feedback and are looking forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely guest house for 4 days - nothing too much trouble , spotless room with a breakfast to die for , even provided black pudding for guests from the north !!! Ideal location - quiet but only a 10 min stroll to either Torquay or Paignton even nearer for the quaint village of Cockington

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dave60golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa g, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the wonderful comment, we are so glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Charterhouse for 4 nights.it is perfectly situated, just far enough out of town but easy to walk in. We had a lovely sunny room with a sea view. The room was spotlessly clean with a well stocked tea tray including fresh milk. Breakfast was beautiful with local produce used and everything cooked to perfection. The jams were all homemade and were so good we bought some to bring home. Lisa and Christophe were the perfect hosts.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa g, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback, we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Very friendly and great facilities good food and very welcoming and helpful. Easy to find nice garden to sit in if weather's nice. Walking distance to sea front and local pub. In the middle of alot of things to do.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa g, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you Rob for your kind review, it is much appreciated. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed our location, food and facilities. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Spent 4 very enjoyable days at the Charterhouse in Torquay.
Lovely friendly hotel. Warm welcome from the owners who couldn’t do enough to please.
Excellent breakfast, plenty of choice, service excellent.
Definitely worth a visit!

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank 486elizabetht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa g, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you Elizabeth for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate that. We are glad to see that you appreciated our hospitality and breakfast .....and the sun for a perfect week end. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews