We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (864)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveler rating
822
38
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
822
38
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscockington villagemarmaladeriviera roomgarden roomwater meadowsfamily suitewarm welcomehome from homelocal produceperfect hostssea frontbiscuitson arrivalsuperior roomlocal areatorquay centresecond to none
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 864 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We booked directly with The Charterhouse fairly last minute as they have interconnecting rooms which is perfect for our family of four. The rooms were fab, clean and homely. The welcome was extremely friendly and the breakfast made me wish we were staying longer so I could sample all of the options. A great find that totally exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa g, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you for the great review, we are very happy to have exceeded your expectations and hope to welcome you again for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Stayed one night with the children (6&7) in interconnected room. Lovely hospitality and children enjoyed themselves too, great breakfast cooked by Christophe. Very good value, nice quiet location but not far from local amenities, definitely recommend and will stay again, superb base for visiting Paignton and family in Devon.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa g, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you for the lovely review, we are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely chilled weekend. The Rooms was nice and clean .breakfast was Amazing host's was lovely they even left the better half a bottle of Prosecco for her Birthday . Wot a lovely place to visit on a short break...Will be coming back here in the Summer

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Daylejledburu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa g, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

We are glad you have enjoyed the week end ....and the prosecco. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to see you in the Summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We arrived here late on friday evening and they were so welcoming. The room was really warm and the bed was easily the most comfortable we ever slept in, we both woke up saying what a wonderful nights sleep we had.
In the morning we could see just how bug this property is and the amazing grounds they all around. We had a lovely view out to the sea.
The breakfast was served downstairs and there was a selection of breads, pastries, fresh fruit, homemade marmalades, yogurt and nuts at the buffet.
The hot breakfast was also delicious, lovely smoked salmon, poached eggs and mushrooms and really nice friendly service. I hope they have a lot more continued success here, you have all the right things on offer.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sinny12lyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa g, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback, we are so please to see you have enjoyed our little guest house and our breakfast. We hope to see you again soon at The Charterhouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 February 2018

My boyfriend and I spend Valentines day evening in this hotel bed and breakfast and it was amazing! We had an incredible stay, with a welcoming environment the entire time, the room was warm and cosy, and extremely comfortable. The breakfast was incredible too, perfectly cooked full English which we could both thoroughly enjoy! We are planning to come again over the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa g, Owner at The Charterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Gabrielle, Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback, we are please to see you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews