We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected delightful experience.”

The Corinthian Restaurant
Ranked #267 of 782 Restaurants in Plymouth
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Corinthian Restaurant is situated on the water's edge between The Barbican and Plymouth Hoe. We have magnificent sea views over Plymouth Sound, with three marinas close by. Our Corinthian Restaurant has become a popular destination for those seeking mouth-watering cuisine at refreshingly reasonable prices. We offer a fabulous Bistro Menu, a new British tapas menu as well as the old favourites such as our Devon cream tea and Sunday carvery.
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Literally walking past and saw the small chalkboard at the top of the steps and thought why not.
Congratulations to a yacht club that has moved with the times and opened its doors to the public. As an ex-yachtsman who has visited many yacht clubs in the Northern Hemisphere I can assure anyone thinking of visiting that the welcome from the staff is first class as is the service. We walked through the main restaurant and sat in the elevated area overlokking Plymouth Sound, fantastic views.
The food was excellent, nicely served and helped to make the occasion memorable.
Give it a try if passing, you should not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank baldred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPCYC, Manager at The Corinthian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review! I will be passing your comments on to our team and Directors.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you will return soon.

We have been open to the public for 10 or more years now and are finally shaking the stigma that we are a members only club.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely setting , great food , amazing low prices . We were lucky enough to have duo playing who were very good . Unhurried and good service .a real must visit

Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPCYC, Manager at The Corinthian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for you review, its lovely to read about your enjoyable experience.

We hope to see you again soon :)

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Great afternoon with friends at this fantastic location. Beautiful views as we had a window table. We arrived mid-morning and it was reasonably quiet. There was no rush to order and we watched onto the Plymouth Sound water where you could see the boats , yachts, kayakers, paddle boarders enjoying the still tranquil waters. We ordered Afternoon tea which was just enough, in fact we left some! The waitress was friendly and very accommodating. It only cost £14.95 per couple for the Afternoon tea- great value. A variety of sandwiches, scones with jam and clotted cream and little pastries. Fabulous place for a catch up with friends or family. I would definitely be coming back.

1  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPCYC, Manager at The Corinthian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for you lovely review of our venue! Its so nice that you have taken the time to write this.

I will print this out and display it for our team to see, a little positivity goes along way and helps boost team moral and encourages them to keep doing a good job.

Hope to see you soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2017

A lovely restaurant overlooking Plymouth Sound. The waiting staff are always friendly and the carvery is excellent value for money.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KatyJ1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPCYC, Manager at The Corinthian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We love good feed back to pass on to the team, it always help to keep a well oiled machine going.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2017

I visited recently with friends and we excellent seats over looking the water front. Plenty to choose from the menu, hot meals, snacks and drinks. I only wanted a snack and choose the avocado and smoked salmon sandwiches which were delicious. Sweets were equally good, served in various size jars, l had the banana sundae. which was lovely. All prices and drinks were very reasonable, service good. Nice clean loo's. The views from here are really good over looking Plymouth Sound and the surrounding areas. It's open for coffee until the evening, Have previously been for dinner. Afterwards you cant take a walk along the sea front to the Barbican, where there is plenty to keep you entertained.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPCYC, Manager at The Corinthian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We are very lucky to have such wonderful views overlooking Plymouth sound. Come rain or shine.

We have a new winter menu coming for October so we hope you might visit again and give it ago.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corinthian Restaurant also viewed

 
Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to The Corinthian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing