We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveler rating
182
168
99
56
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
168
99
56
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities steam room swimming pool spa treatments course evening meal bar menu hotel guests room was large family wedding one night stay family room full english excellent value for money churchill gym brasserie plympton
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Elfordleigh Hotel on February 14th and 15th as a Valentine’s treat.
We have been there on many occasions, as we particularly like the beautiful setting , the large ,comfortable rooms and the excellent spa facilities —so relaxing.
We enjoyed yet another stay in the lovely,quiet surroundings and appreciated our spacious premier room, which had been tastefully refurbished (in keeping with the other areas).Everywhere looked fresh and inviting.
Although, on our first afternoon, we were very disappointed that the pool area was closed, due to a leak, we realised it was unavoidable. The leisure staff couldn’t have been more apologetic or helpful. Thankfully we were able to use the pool and jacuzzi the following afternoon.
Our cooked breakfasts on both mornings were freshly made and delicious ,our compliments and thanks to the duty chef.
( A great improvement on the buffet breakfast we had on our last visit).
All the staff were friendly and helpful ,nothing was too much trouble.
The only negative comment we have is concerning our evening meals,as we had booked dinner,bed and breakfast.We weren’t at all impressed with the standard of the food. My main course was inedible ,and despite having it replaced, the new meal was no better. Furthermore we did not think the surcharges on the menu were justified ,as the choices without a surcharge were extremely limited and we didn’t expect to have to have to pay any extra.
Sorry to end on a bad note ,as we thoroughly enjoyed our overall stay and we certainly hope to return in the near future.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank brynymor1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elfordleigh2009, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to make a constructive revue of the Elfordleigh.

We do seem to have got most of it right but let ourselves down at dinner. We shall certainly take your comments on board.

I am really please to read the your overall experience was a good one.

Take Care

Mike Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

the pool/Spa facilities were poorly decorated, generally run down and extremely dated. plus their rough looking maintenance men were staring through the pool windows from outside at all the women and children inside.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Anonymous D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elfordleigh2009, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Reviewer,

I feel your comments towards the workmen are very rude and discriminating.

Kind Regards

Michael Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

I Can honestly say that my stay at the elfordleigh hotel was pleasant. Warm welcoming feeling each and everytime, rooms are nice and very clean, food was great. But most importantly the staff are amazing within them selfs, every day welcoming you with warming smiles and always pleasant to say the least. Them alone deserve a 10/10. Just wish i had a proper chance to say goodbye before my leave. Will defiantly be looking forward to my next stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank Hayden S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elfordleigh2009, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Hayden,

Thank you for your kind comments.

I shall ensure my team get a copy of your review, it really makes all the hard work we put in rewarding.

Take Care

Mike Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 March 2018

We wanted a nice relaxing stay away, so escaped here, and immediately there's amazing grounds and surroundings.

Sadly though, we won't be returning. Our room was huge, which was great, but there were someones dirty clothes in there, and the bathroom clearly hadn't been clean with hair still in and around the bath.

We ordered room service, which was only just warm, and really oily and watery. After this, we decided to go to the spa for a relax in the pool, which was far too cold! The 12 other people sitting by the pool said the same. One hot tub had work being done to it, and the other had 6 people crammed in, so we left. The changing rooms and pool area were also pretty dirty.

In the morning, we had breakfast but were ignored by staff for at least 15 minutes. There were a few waiters on hand, but all had their attention focused on the one other table. They seemed nervous to ask us for our order. After I called someone over to take an order, he didn't seem interested and read it back to me completely wrong. The breakfast was nice though.

We made a complaint at reception, and sent a further email which had no response. I got in touch again, but have been ignored. So here's my review.

If you want a nice, quiet, relaxing break, go to the Premiere Inn.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrwhite2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Lovely location, nice warm welcome on arrival, great size room, nicely presented.
Great view out over the lovely grounds, warm and inviting. Nice bathroom with a Jacuzzi bath and separate shower, his and hers sinks, looks like a recent updating of this room. Downstairs for a fantastic dinner and great entertainment, great service from the waiting staff. Nice peaceful night in a comfortable bed, breakfast was very good , served very quick with a great choice of cereals, juices etc. Very good value for money We Will be Back for some more

Room tip: Try and book a golf course view room you will be blown away with the surroundings
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UKJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elfordleigh2009, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Jerry,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of you stay with us.

Hopefully you will find the time to stay with us again.

Take Care

Mike Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews