We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dancing, laughs and mates!”
Review of Bierkeller

Bierkeller
Ranked #322 of 564 Restaurants in Exeter
Description: Bierkeller Exeter is German drinking hall with quizzes on Wednesdays, live bands on Thursdays, disco on the benches Fridays and classic Oompah every Saturday All major sporting events Large party bookings taken
Restaurant details
Description: Bierkeller Exeter is German drinking hall with quizzes on Wednesdays, live bands on Thursdays, disco on the benches Fridays and classic Oompah every Saturday All major sporting events Large party bookings taken
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This is definitely a place to bring all of your friends, a Friday/saturday night here is unlike any other you get in Exeter. The oompah band are a great touch and really get things going!

Brilliant range of beers too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CallumG96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

Might have had an enjoyable evening except we were 'greeted' by a thoroughly unpleasant, hateful and miserable woman who snarled at us on arrival and was totally unpleasant throughout our stay. At least we found it wasn't personal. It was a Friday night and by no means full - I wonder why. It was so obvious she had no interest in any form of customer care, we felt very much as if we were an inconvenience. Huffing and puffing when we asked for drinks. No please and definitely no thank you. Tried to enjoy ourselves but couldn't get out of this place quickly enough, took hour to drink the stein of mediocre beer costing £8.50 each. A waste of £34. Had to review this place to warn other prospective visitors and now will put this ghastly experience out of mind as if it never happened. Shame it isn't possible to leave a zero star review.

Thank sjm418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian P, Public Relations Manager at Bierkeller, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi sjm

Thanks for your review.

Hands up on this one, no excuses as were in agreement, we didnt keep this person on after her trial period. We do now have a wonderful team who take a firm interest in the biers and serve with a smile. If you wanted to reface this ghastly experience message us directly and we'll turn that frown upside down
Prost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Visited as a group on a Christmas party. This place has basic facilities but when the music starts and you get into the mood it is a great laugh and a nice way to spend an evening with friends. They do have the facility to book if you have a large party. If you're idea of fun is large beers and dancing on the tables then give it a go

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Went to check this place out on a night out recently. Firstly, the doormen are proper gents. Big lads that clearly don’t need to intimidate people. This gets a massive thumbs up. So we went straight to the bar at peak time on a Saturday night, and it took no time to be served by a knowledgeable and friendly chap, who recommended a lovely German larger. I went for a stein and it did not disappoint. I could’ve quite easily stayed for the rest of the night, had we not been on a bit of a crawl. We sat in and had a couple of rounds whilst listening to the oompah band and singing/playing along with the drinking games. I will definitely return to try more excellent beer in the near future. Top marks!

Thank TP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

We visited here on a sat night as a stop between the Quay and the more centrally located pubs. All I can say is that the place is blistering hot, unclean, very slippy floors.

The service was poor and the prices match. 2 x steins for £24. Not appealing at all. We arrived at 21:30 and the live band had already stopped.

This places is just teriable. Avoid it. Save the money.

1  Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian P, Public Relations Manager at Bierkeller, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Luke

Thanks for your review and apologies for the delayed response we've only just claimed this page.
The visit in question was indeed hot, wet and sticky as i remember there was a late evening big rugby match on and we were at capacity for it. Lots of beers went over the floor as the results went our way so the celebrations were pretty wild.
We did our best to try and mop up before the night time customers came but with only 15mins obviously not well enough and once that many people have been in the building it takes sometime for the air con to bring the room temperture back down.
There are indeed steins at £12 but this is Franziskaner Weissbier one of our most expensive & finest imported Bavarian biers brewed to the german purity laws so unfortunatly that is the price we have to charge but we know its worth it for the quality. Kellerbier is only £6.50 a stein,and we've lots between these two price marks.
You mention the band had already stopped which is half right as they do two sets per night they have to take a break to rest their lips from playing the instruments so hard. They would of came back out soon afterwards
Maybe give us another go I'm sure you'll have a different experience and not find it so terrible.
Prost


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bierkeller also viewed

 

Been to Bierkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing