We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empty”
Review of The Arch

The Arch
Ranked #34 of 77 Restaurants in Looe
Price range: US$8 - US$34
Description: Here at The Arch we pride ourselves on making as much as we possibly can so it is freshly prepared for you; tasty small plates, mains and delicous desserts
Restaurant details
Description: Here at The Arch we pride ourselves on making as much as we possibly can so it is freshly prepared for you; tasty small plates, mains and delicous desserts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here yesterday after a busy day in looe , restaurant was empty, literally not 1 person in there, 4 of us arrived fir lunch, was told we couldn’t enter without a mask.. all 4 of us double vaccinated, all 4 of us tested positive for antibodies before the holiday. Ridiculous when there would only have been us in there, ridiculous when mask wearing isn’t even required anymore.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank pdizzle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was met by a lovely chap in the afternoon who advised that it was only walk ins. We were fine with this. Heard great things so waited for 1 hour and 10 minutes in the evening, to be told as entering. Sorry, that’s it for tonight. Absolute joke of an establishment.

If you’re going to operate such service, which is absolutely fine and the norm in such circumstances, please give the “possible” paying public some warning, let’s say 15 minutes before just advising of wait times and possible chances of dining. We know you’re busy? Everyone is, but it’s common courtesy, rather than be greeted with sorry guys. That’s it tonight as you’re at the door!

And when you question it, be told… “Well, you chose to wait”. Clown! I really hope this is not the owner.

Appreciate, it’ a long day but you do not greet the public like that. Mock!

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Wanderer33882306804
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After getting a warm greeting from waitress, the meal was totally disappointing, I ordered the Arch burger which sounded tasty on menu however on arrival it was a overdone burger with a thin slice of cheese and bit of bacon served in a dry tough bun and the french fries were just as warm as the side salad and were as soggy and oily as ever, total disappointment to what had been a good day out, sorry won’t be recommending to anyone

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank peacock191
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Queued 20 mins for a table of 6. Staff were great, food even better. Waited 30 mins for food but when it’s fresh and made for you who cares. Will 100% visit again

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank GaryG2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There was a queue outside, as like many places in Looe this year, The Arch is not taking bookings. I felt sorry for the poor staff as the groups in front of us were complaining about the wait. Why do people not get that the queues everywhere are because the whole country has landed in Cornwall and there are not enough locals to provide us all with the food and drinks we are demanding!! Anyway, despite being abused by others- the staff were friendly and the service couldn’t be faulted. Food was spot on- mussel starter was the best we’d tasted in a long time. Our kids were delighted with their sausage and chips!! Great value for money and definitely worth the small queue outside.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank EmmaAlcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Arch also viewed

 

Been to The Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.