We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keith”

The Oaklands, Hungry Horse
Get food delivered
Ranked #22 of 88 Quick Bites in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Family friendly Hungry Horse with Over 18's sport bar area. Fantastic daily deals such as two meals for £7.99 or burger and a drink for £4.99 all making a visit great value for money. Lager, wine and bitter begin at just £2.29 and We welcome dogs on a lead in our large beer garden and supply fresh water on request. We have extensive parking to the front and rear of the building. We show all major sporting fixtures on our 4k big screen and multiple screens throughout the en.
Reviewed 17 September 2021 via mobile

What a pub Martin and the team could not do enough it was our first visit here and will definitely return we brought our daughter up from the new forest to attend university and found this pub what a result eat here for 2 days breakfast lunch and dinner was never disappointed

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank keithnE5843IP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Oaklands, Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to Martin and the rest of the team.

Team Oaklands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2021 via mobile

Had a three night stay here, would definitely recommend if visiting Chester. Central to everything, great value for money, nice and clean, staff very helpful, polite and friendly. Food always hot and to a good standard. We’ll certainly be back again, 5stars from us Michelle and Gary

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank michellewardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Oaklands, Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2021

Good morning Michelle and Gary, thank you ever so much for leaving us such a fantastic review following your stay with us. To hear such positive comments regarding the food, value and service is truly wonderful and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2021 via mobile

This was an invited revisit from Mark the kitchen manager from the Oakland’s. Our first visit was very disappointing and we complained to Greene King who passed it onto Mark. We were told we had a table booked for 3pm. When we arrived we gave our names and said we had a table booked and the girl on the till told us to sit anywhere. The first table was extremely wobbly so we moved to table 15( the next table along) We ordered and Martin who took the order was a bit abrupt and when I asked for 2 sauces on the chicken fingers he held one finger up and said only one sauce. I asked if we could order an extra he said yes but you pay extra. That was fine. I said Mark had booked us in and was told he was out with his girlfriend and then told by a man in a white shirt that we were booked on table 1. We decided to stay at table 15. The food arrived starter first then main and no-one came to ask if everything was ok. We ordered extra drinks on the app and when we left we still hadn’t seen anyone to check all was ok. We left and won’t be back. The least we expected was for someone to acknowledge us and that we were expected. We could have gone to any other eatery but had been invited to revisit this one.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Jayne19582013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Oaklands, Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to our pub, and I'm really sorry that we've not been able to give you a great experience. This isn't our usual standard and your feedback will be taken on board!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2021

Brilliant and friendly staff. Emma was so helpful and thoughtful, tried to help out with our accommodation situation.. Had a brilliant laugh with all the staff

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 809jaynef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Oaklands, Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team. Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

Popped here after spending a few hours in Chester, definitely a good find to where we will return! The place was busy because of a football match but we were seated quickly and our food and drink orders also arrived in good time. Food was lovely and amazing value for money, my peroni was good too. Staff were friendly and helpful even though they were obviously really busy. A good meal, great atmosphere in the place. We'll definitely be back!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank mcdaddywaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Owner at The Oaklands, Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Hi Mcdaddywaddy, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Oaklands Hotel. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oaklands, Hungry Horse also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 

Been to The Oaklands, Hungry Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.