We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$318
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oddfellows(Chester)
Free cancellation until 08/04
US$177
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grosvenor Place Guest House(Chester)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/31
Book now, pay at stay
US$161
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$99
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$170
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cheltenham Lodge(Chester)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chester Apartments(Chester)
US$554
US$416
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (774)
Filter reviews
774 results
Traveler rating
748
13
8
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
748
13
8
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty baroverlooking the rivercopper bathmolton brown toiletriestelephone boxriverview balconyhigh bedglass of proseccojelly beanson arrivalreubengarden terrace roombest hotel we have ever stayedjunior suitecinema roomtasting menuafternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 774 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Booked a Birthday Tasting menu at the restaurant , Twenty2, which is incorporated in the building (separate review). Edgar House offered us a package for room , breakfast & the dinner . Lovely surprise as we drove into the car park as a parking space by the door had our name on it . Nice welcome from the girls Sophie and her colleague ( sorry I didn't get your name ). The Riverview room was excellent. Spacious , quality facilities , comfortable, quiet with a superb bathroom and a private veranda to enjoy our welcome Prosecco.
Breakfast was of a high standard with friendly service . Even if we did not use Twenty2 restaurant we would definitely book Edgar House again.

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Dear Michael
Thank you ever so much for your splendid review (and the one for Twenty2). We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and I sincerely hope we can welcome you back again. Thanks again Michael. Best wishes, Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Absolutely LOVED our stay at Edgar House. From the moment you entered the beautifully decorated house you felt at home. Great, friendly welcome & an excellent room - really thoughtfully put together. There really was everything you needed - either for a business trip or romantic break.

Amy recommended & booked us a table for dinner at Opera Grill, superb choice - not sure if she pulled strings to get us a great table on the terrace.

Quiet location, quality mattress, linen and pillows made for a great night's sleep.

Breakfast didn't disappoint. Will be recommending this little gem to so many friends. Thank you - James

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JamesAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear James
What a really lovely review. Thank you ever so much. It was our pleasure to look after you and David and I hope we can welcome you back again :) Many thanks again James, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

My sons booked this as a surprise last year for our 25th anniversary
The hotel is surely the best bespoke hotel we've been to with all the finer touches you could ever think of.
The owners are very pleasant and personal.
Beautiful room and excellent breakfast in bed.
Truly amazing experience thank you to all the staff and especially the two owners for making it a memorable experience
You must visit this hotel

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank citygirls69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Awww, thank you so much for this lovely review. Thank you for mentioning our team too, who work very hard. We're thrilled you had a great time for your anniversary and I hope we can welcome you back for another special occasion. Many thanks again. Best wishes, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I stayed in this hotel this past Christmas and it was amazing. Coming up to the stay, the hotel staff went out of their way to make my room perfect. The room was spotless with excellent TV (Amazon Prime) and a very large bed. It was the perfect stay.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoelHeraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear Joel
I guess it's never too late to leave a great review :) Many thanks indeed for this Joel. I hope we can welcome you and Emma again this Christmas ? Very best wishes Joel. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed here as a special treat for my wife's birthday and boy did we feel special. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left. We enjoyed Sunday lunch and then the lovely views over river before taking a stroll around on the walls of Chester that are literally on your doorstep. The room was gorgeous as was the hotel. Nice and quiet and peaceful listening to the sounds of the river as we dozed off in the evening. Breakfast was very special, especially the sausages. Cooked to perfection. Amy took care of us and we are very grateful. I hope we get the chance to stay again sometime.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Terry_Donnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear Terry
Many thanks indeed for your really tremendous review. It was our pleasure to have looked after you and Gabrielle. Thanks too for mentioning our sausages! They are the best! :) Many thanks again Terry. Best wishes, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews