We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dene Hotel(Chester)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,654)
Filter reviews
1,654 results
Traveler rating
402
562
391
190
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
562
391
190
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark and ridehealth clubleisure facilitiesevening mealbar pricesbreakfast was buffet stylecity centresteam roomcheshire oaksboth nightstea and coffeetwo night stayenjoyable staystayed here for one nightweekend breakyogurtcanal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,654 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed on a DBB deal. Room fine but only really for sleeping. Restaurant not bad for a chain hotel, breakfast good. Staff pleasant and helpful, particularly the restaurant/hotel manager. Health club OK but you get kids swimming lessons as it is non-residents mainly. That said, it had all the facilities, but the shower areas were past their sell by date. Only 200m from park and ride. Good base for the area.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear David G,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

It is always good to receive feedback and I will share your comments with the team.
Some areas of the Hotel have just undergone major refurbishment works and I know there are more to follow once the dust has settled so to speak. I am sure this continued investment will make a big difference to the hotel and the guest experience going forward.

Once again many thanks and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Yours
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff are all very helpful and friendly. The hotel is now starting to look a little dated, dark wood and dark red marble looking surfaces, but it is clean and well looked after. Would recommend the hotel for anybody wanting to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mxhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear mxhayes,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor

It is always nice to receive positive feedback and I will share your nice comments with the team

Once again many thanks and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Yours
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here as a quick overnight stop to go to the zoo. On arrival it looked quite nice, check in was pretty quick. As we walked to our room we were holding up are hopes for a nice room, get inside and well we were disappointed, it was pretty small very basic & looked very tired! The bathroom was awful, looked like something from your great nans house in the 70’s! There was dust on the loo roll holder & radiator, a horrible black mark on the bath, the sink was marked with what looked like limescale in it, the whole bathroom was very worn & old , the bath panel had a big chip out of it that could be dangerous to a little person! The shower was pathetic, it took ages to warm up then just trickled out! The bed was hard & uncomfortable, paintwork needed doing! All in all the room needed a complete makeover. To top it off we had an awful nights sleep thanks to other guests/ the people in the room next to us- slamming the door with no respect for others, banging on tables, shouting at each other in their room, all going on late at night! We won’t ever be returning & glad we only paid what we did! Can’t comment on the food or any other aspect as luckily we were only there for less than 24hours!

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
Thank Sophf26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sophf26,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor

It is always helpful to receive feedback and I will share your comments with the team
I was sorry to read the bedroom on this occasion did not live up to expectation, please accept my apologies.

Once again many thanks for taking the time to review us.

Yours
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I’ve stayed at the hotel on several occasions and have always been made really welcome by the staff. The rooms are comfortable and larger than most competitors. I will be back later in the year and look forward to enjoying the same service

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank andrew0759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear andrew0759,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor

It is always nice to receive positive feedback and I will share your nice comments with the team

Once again many thanks and look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.

Yours
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was a little worried after reading bad reviews on here but I have to say our room was comfortable and clean , staff were friendly,can't fault the breakfast there was plenty of choice and it was regularly topped up and very nice. Bear in mind that you are outside of Chester but the park and ride is handy. The only reason I didn't give full marks is I thought the spa facilities were a bit of a let down, a small shallow pool , 1a steam room a Jacuzzi and a sauna it was ok but I just thought it would be bigger, however that's not the reason we went for not a massive problem.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jackie F,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor

It is always nice to receive positive feedback and I will share your nice comments with the team

Once again many thanks and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Yours
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews