We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the kids... just a shame about some of the staff”
Review of The Wishing Well

The Wishing Well
Ranked #786 of 1,733 Restaurants in Bristol
Restaurant details
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The kids love the soft play in the wacky warehouse alongside the pub... the food is average, but it's cheap n cheerful, so you don't expect 'cordon bleu'. Most of staff in restaurant are pleasant and helpful, but in the softplay they're let down. The team leader Tabby is a miserable, woman with a terrible attitude. I've been in often and always found the same when she is in. The other staff are helpful, considerate, friendly to parents and kids... but she is none of those things, and needs lessons in respect. She flaps aground making herself look like she's doing everything, actually moaning to people about how she's short staffed, and how much she has to do. Totally unprofessional. Needs retraining or getting rid of.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin W, General Manager at The Wishing Well, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the review, I am pleased to hear that you are a regular visitor and that you find the staff attentive and helpful. We are passionate about giving our guest the best possible experience so its nice to hear that the team are delivering this. I am very surprised about your feedback regarding Tabby as we usually only receive very positive reviews about her customer service, and to date she has received more compliments than any other member of our team. However because we take all feedback seriously I will be looking into this to ensure that this is not something that will happen again. If you would like to speak to me personally regarding this matter then please call me on 01179 475341.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a fantastic place great for all the family with wacky warehouse and 2 meals for 8.99 food was perfect star was lovely can't wait to return soon

2  Thank hotheadkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin W, General Manager at The Wishing Well, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the fantastic feedback. We are really glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

Booked a table for 2 adults and 2 children on Mothers Day and specifically chose this venue as it has a wacky warehouse attached. The warehouse was a little expensive at £3.50 each to play but the facilities justify the price. It was however a little cold in the warehouse as the heating was broken and everyone was in coats inc the warehouse staff. The food and service in the bar was excellent really good value for money. We had a slight incident where another family also booked and was allocated our table but they quickly resolved it and gave us some money back as good gesture. Overall very happy and will be returning.

Thank Guy-Navarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin W, General Manager at The Wishing Well, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feed back and your patience on the day. We at the Wishing Well strive to ensure all our guests leave happy and I am glad that we were able to rescue your visit. The heating in the Wacky Warehouse is not working at the moment so I know that it is a little cold in there but rest assured we are pushing to get this resolved as quick as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

Wife had Cheese and Red Onion Chutney Melt the first serving was burnt, second time it came out it was just dried bread both times served with some limp lettuce and half a salad tomato, value for money NIL at £3.99 must have cost them for ingredients 25p at most. No napkins on the table when asked the waitress she said she would bring some they never arrived, very poor quality of food and service considering they were not that busy. Not impressed cheap food at the bottom of the barrel.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

No heating they didn't even tell us they were told not to so we left without eating and went else where

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank csteve673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wishing Well also viewed

Hanham, Gloucestershire
Kingswood, Gloucestershire
 
Codrington, Gloucestershire
 

Been to The Wishing Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing