We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wellington
Nearby Hotels
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$132
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$90
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
108
56
29
14
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
56
29
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooked breakfastcontinental breakfast was includedrange of beersnice pubground coffeegreat roomfull englishbusy roadfresh fruitone night staybed was very comfortablewellyroverrugbyaccommodationbathtoiletries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came in to the Welly one evening last week for a business meal with some of my colleagues. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and loved the Food I had the Prawn starter then the Roasted chicken Breast .
The menu could be a little more exciting but we still were delighted with our supper.
The atmosphere was great but the music could of been a little louder.

BUT I tried to buy the 2 restaurant staff who looked after us so well a drink to say much appreciated and they explained that all the staff have been banned from drinking in the pub just recentley and kindly declined the offer.I just though how petty and that I would never unereate the people who work for you. Hopefully this isn't a overall brewery "Law" although I did e-mail the brewery about the matter .All in all a nice local pub.
ST AUSTALL APPRECIATE YOUR STAFF AND COLLEAGUES PLEASE

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Thank SaraPerez87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us this review. We have taken your comments and they will be discussed. We hope to see you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place is going to be great. A Cornish pub group from St Austell are in process of doing it up, hiring and training new staff and changing the whole ambience of the Wellington. I just wish this boot has finished before I arrived last Thursday. Hope they double glaze the bedroom we were in as this would reduce the road noise and keep it warmer.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank bendocjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for this review. We do hope you will return after this experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited The Wellington last night after a long drive from the east coast. Just wanted some decent hot food in comfortable surroundings. It was barely warm enough in there and had to keep layers on. Ordered a ginger beer shandy (with instructions) and it came back as beer with probably ginger ale in it? Not right.
But the food was the real issue. £14.50 for a roast dinner; it had obviously been sitting around for ages and was then served on cold plates. The potatoes and Yorkshire pud were barely edible, the extra gravy not overly hot, the veg sad looking, the meat okayish. I would be embarrassed to serve a meal of that quality at home let alone charge for it.
When the waiter came over and asked "is everything ok" we advised on the low temperature of the plates and food and he said would talk to chef and maybe get us a free drink. We didn't actually want another drink and he never came back anyway.
So... hopeless. Will not go there again.
Definitely one to avoid.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night. Toilet was very dirty. When complained a lazy guy up came to sort it out but actually didn’t clean anything.
Disgusting place in a neglected neighbourhood.
Stay away.
Grossly overpriced as well at £123.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
3  Thank yoram a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2018 via mobile

Went for a Sunday lunch and it was lovely. The beef was heavenly and was cooked fantastically whilst my friends had the lamb and pork and both reported it to be brilliant. A nice big portion with beef dripping roasties and lots of different veg. The only downside was the gravy was a bit thin as it had to suitable for all of the meats but apart from that an excellent Sunday roast for a reasonable price.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you for your revoew, we are delighted you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews