We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hide from bad weather with kids”
Review of M Shed

M Shed
Ranked #24 of 174 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See amazing film and photographs, listen to moving personal stories, encounter rare and quirky objects and add your own memories of Bristol through the interactive displays. From prehistoric times to the present day, M Shed tells the story of the city and its unique place in the world.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Went here with the kids when the weather the usual British standard, i.e. raining.. whilst it's not very big, there's parking right outside, a cafe, and the exhibits are child friendly. And it's free!

Thank globetrotter4989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolMuseums, Box Office Assistant at M Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Helloglobetrotter4989! Thank you for your review, we're glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon! Perhaps in spring/summer you may be interested in our working exhibit rides, such as the train, boats and cranes - full details can be found on our website.
All the best, Karolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"double decker bus"
in 37 reviews
"free museum"
in 61 reviews
"wildlife photography"
in 17 reviews
"bristol life"
in 31 reviews
"modern museum"
in 18 reviews
"slave trade"
in 44 reviews
"bristol's history"
in 42 reviews
"great museum"
in 39 reviews
"local history"
in 35 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 32 reviews
"all ages"
in 80 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 17 reviews
"on display"
in 35 reviews
"steam train"
in 24 reviews
"different areas"
in 17 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 45 reviews
"interesting place"
in 16 reviews
Filter

131 - 135 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

It is a pity that the museum and cafe have to be reviewed as one entity.

The museum is very good and well worth a visit. To call the cafe mediocre is generous. We visited during the school holidays with 2 two year olds and 1 four year old, none of whom are fussy eaters. There was hardly anything suitable for the children and we ended up with toasted tea cakes for them and a sandwich each for my wife and myself. The sandwiches were “garnished” with some limp, browning leaves.

With a very small plastic pot of juice for each of the kids, 2 tangerines, an apple, a packet of Pom Bears plus one tea and one coffee our bill was over £28. Very poor value. It was telling that on a sunny day during school holidays, when the museum was packed, the cafe was not.

On a positive note, the staff were friendly and helpful.

We will not be returning to the cafe.

Thank Phil__cleeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolMuseums, Box Office Assistant at M Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Phil,
Thank you for reviewing your visit, we are happy that you had a positive time and hope to see you again soon! We appreciate your comments on the cafe and will take it into consideration when looking to improve the service. If you come back during the Spring or Summer, we will be running on alternate weekends rides on our Steam Train, Cranes and Boats - perfect for all ages! More details about this can be found on our website.
Best wishes, Karolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This review is about the cafe not the museum. The cafe is a absolute rip off as they charged £2.50 for a sausage roll no bigger than 3cm. Also the toasties were £7.50 each. For our family of us and three kids the bill came to £33.50 for basically a snack. No wonder the museum is free to enter, the plebs in the cafe are bankrolling the venture.

Thank Skylark1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolMuseums, Box Office Assistant at M Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Skylark1173,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry that our café didn’t meet your expectations. We serve fresh, homemade, Fair-trade, organic food in our café. As always we will take your comments on board and look to improve. We hope you visit again soon. Best Wishes, Karolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

I’d recommend this as a good starting place for tourists to Bristol. You’ll find out loads about the people and history that make Bristol such a fascinating place. A few broken interactive displays- but they are working on them apparently. The cafe was great too- with some of the best food I’ve seen in a museum cafe!

Thank EmmaG1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolMuseums, Box Office Assistant at M Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Emma,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and the food in our café, which is always fresh, homemade, fair-trade, and organic. Perhaps in spring/summer you may be interested in our working exhibit rides, such as the train, boats and cranes - full details can be found on our website. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
All the best, Karolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The exhibitions at MShed are often interesting, and having a few floors the place holds more than one. Usually its free entry though I'd imagine some would have a fee.
The cafe serves good coffee and a variety of foods. I would give it a go if I'm in the area.

Thank Fahad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolMuseums, Box Office Assistant at M Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Fahad,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon! Perhaps on your next visit, you might also enjoy the historical walks and Behind the Scenes tours we offer. More information can be found on our website.
All the best, Karolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M Shed also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to M Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing