We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Museum Is A Must!”

Bristol Museum & Art Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.69*
and up
Bristol private walking tour with a local guide
Ranked #26 of 228 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore our free collections of art, nature and history on display in this beautiful building. Find out about the last billion years of earth's history, explore the region's natural wonders and discover more about peoples' lives, past and present.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

As proud Bristolians, we like to visit this Museum from time-to-time, and it always manages to seem different every visit. It’s wonderful that there’s no actual entry fee, although donations are greatly welcomed. Such an inspirational and educational place attracting all ages.
My husband loves the natural history display, and I myself am always drawn to the exquisitely sparkling minerals. This Museum truly helps to bring the past to life. Please don’t ever change!

1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolMuseums, Box Office Assistant at Bristol Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Carol C

Thank you for your great comments about Bristol Museum and Art Gallery.

We are happy that you enjoyed your visit. Our website bristolmuseums.org.uk will keep you updated on upcoming events across all our sites including M Shed, The Red Lodge, The Georgian House and Blaise Castle House Museum.

Regards

Brian Ofonagoro
Box Office Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"natural history"
in 47 reviews
"stuffed animals"
in 49 reviews
"egyptian section"
in 22 reviews
"gypsy caravan"
in 18 reviews
"ancient egypt"
in 15 reviews
"special exhibition"
in 13 reviews
"staffordshire hoard"
in 10 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 25 reviews
"free entry"
in 37 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 56 reviews
"suggested donation"
in 9 reviews
"on display"
in 29 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 23 reviews
"rainy day"
in 30 reviews
"few hours"
in 36 reviews
"all ages"
in 43 reviews
"nice cafe"
in 14 reviews
Filter

32 - 36 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Very busy when we visited as it was Easter however there is so much to see that it wasn't hard to find a few quiet areas to enjoy the exhibitions. Don't miss the Banksey in the main entrance hall.

Thank SBA156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolMuseums, Box Office Assistant at Bristol Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear SBA156

Thank you for your positive feedback about Bristol Museum and Art Gallery.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. Our website bristolmuseums.org.uk will keep you informed on upcoming events across all our sites including M Shed, The Red Lodge, The Georgian House and Blaise Castle House Museum.

Regards

Brian Ofonagoro
Box Office Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Went here as we were passing through Bristol and had a few hours to kill. The museum is small, but has quite a varied selection of exhibits ranging from silver, ceramics, dinosaurs and artworks.

It is a good place to kill some time and surprised us because it told us things about Bristol which we did not know.

It was free, but donations are encouraged, and a visit is highly recommended.

Thank Grumpybrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolMuseums, Box Office Assistant at Bristol Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Grumpybrother

Thank you for your positive feedback about Bristol Museum and Art Gallery.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. Our website bristolmuseums.org.uk will keep you informed on upcoming events across all our sites including M Shed, The Red Lodge, The Georgian House and Blaise Castle House Museum.

Regards

Brian Ofonagoro
Box Office Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I missed out on a chance to see Grayson Perry's last exhibition in Bristol so was determined to make this one.
The exhibition shows six tapestries depicting a modern day interpretation of William Hogarth's A Rakes Tale.
Showing the movement of a modern day Rake through the class structure as he journeys from humble beginnings to a wealthy tycoon.

The primary sketches and notes show how Grayson develops his ideas before creating the final tapestries. William Hogarth's pictures are in the exhibition for you compare and contrast with Grayson's modern day interpretation.

The tapestries themselves are vibrant in colour and contain so much detail. You need to take your time to notice all the modern day references.

These tapestries are linked to the documentaries that Grayson did on class structure in Britain today. Whilst looking at differences between the North and the South. You can see clips of these documentaries at the exhibition and how they link in some cases directly to the tapestries.

Well worth a visit, there is a charge of £5 but concessions are available.

Thank Oakfieldtrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolMuseums, Box Office Assistant at Bristol Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Oakfieldtrish

Thank you for your positive comments about Bristol Museum and Art Gallery.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. Our website bristolmuseums.org.uk will keep you informed on upcoming events across all our sites including M Shed, The Red Lodge, The Georgian House and Blaise Castle House Museum.

Regards

Brian Ofonagoro
Box Office Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Went with a couple of friends who have never been. We have visited many times with our children. A little disappointed as exhibits are the same as at least 6-7 years ago. It felt dated and no new ideas. However it was warm and welcoming on a wet day.

Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolMuseums, Box Office Assistant at Bristol Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Sue F,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of the Museum and Art gallery. We value your feedback greatly. We are currently planning an update on some of our exhibitions, but in the meantime we endeavour to continue to put on a variety of temporary exhibitions.

If you come again please consider visiting the Grayson Perry, Empire through the Lens, or Radical Clay exhibitions. More details are on our website.

Many thanks

Nick
Box Office Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bristol Museum & Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Bristol Museum & Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing