We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, great atmosphere!”
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 19/06
20:00
Price range: US$14 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Crown Inn Chiddingfold, Condé Nast Johansens Most Excellent Inn in Great Britain 2010 and awarded Recommended Status for 2011. An idyllic English pub, The Crown Inn nestles in a quiet corner of the picture-perfect village green of Chiddingfold in Surrey. Totally refurbished, the olde world charm of the property has been lovingly maintained and sympathetically blended with a more sophisticated and contemporary decor. Beautiful stained-glass windows provide a stunning backdrop to our dining rooms, whilst our downstairs bar has an informal ambience. Our AA coveted 5 Stars has been awarded again in 2013 with the added bonus of a yellow star award, to sit alongside our 'Highly Commended status' for 2013. We are proud to be in the top 10% of only 11 Inns in England.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a wonderful Saturday evening at the Crown, lovely starter to share, I had the moules frites and my partner chose the steak/salsa verde. Both were beautifully cooked and presented. Finished off with a dessert to share. Cosy, relaxed bar/restaurant, great front of house service from Ciara! Highly recommend for good food and fun times with friends & family. We will return again very soon!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Charlie_B73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and regretted it..... That we didn't stay for two!!!

The hotel is lovley and all the staff are very welcoming.
We stayed in the Kings Suite which was lovley, the lounge area in the suite really makes a lovley getway.

We ate in the restaurant that night and enjoyed a lovley meal, we couldn't fault it.

Just wish we had the time to stay another night.....

We shall return again soon!

Thank you!! x

Date of visit: December 2020
2  Thank andrewnX1814UD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2020 via mobile

The Crown features in a new publication from Camra, pubs with historic interiors in the south of England and you can see why. From the lovely old beams, the panelled dining room, the sedan chair in the hallway, the large inglenook fire which was lit when we visited and the lovely old bar. These days you really need to book but they let us have a table. As we just wanted a drink and its future occupants were yet to arrive. The beer is great, the staff helpful, the ambience lively and all Covid measures in place. If you find yourself in Chiddingfold, they are somehow lucky enough to have two great pubs almost nest to each other.

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2020 via mobile

Lovely Sunday lunch, very tasty and excellent service. Nice setting and village. Had the pork and sticky toffee pud. Partner had the lamb.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank Elcid65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2020

Very low quality burger & chips + scampi & chips - something you would expect to have been served in the 70's or 80's - burger was a processed lump and scampi was more batter than scampi and then what there was indifferent

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank willd001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

Chiddingfold, Godalming
Chiddingfold, Godalming
 
Chiddingfold, Godalming
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.