We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villa Loyola(Mammee Bay)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacrest Beach Resort(St. Ann's Bay)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$90
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Jamaica(Ocho Rios)
US$989
US$493
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$575/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ocean Sands(Ocho Rios)
US$65
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (6,262)
Filter reviews
6,262 results
Traveler rating
3,643
1,730
589
200
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,643
1,730
589
200
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond roompier dinnerblue holejade samuraimountain viewcoral cafeentertainment staffocho riosjerk chickenwrapspizza placepizza oventhe grillitalian restaurantpiano barnature walkour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 6,262 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I start?

Let’s see... There’s the lengthy wait to check-in, common at most Jamaican all-inclusives; spotty Wi-Fi that completely stopped working once we got to our room; and that sorry excuse for a beach.

I got suckered into staying at this resort due to my cousin choosing this venue for his wedding, and I’m so glad I had the foresight to hedge against this horrible ordeal by spending a few days in Negril before coming here.

You won’t receive a wristband at Jewel, something that’s more of a pro than it is a con. The idea here is that you won’t easily be identified as a tourist when you leave the resort and head into town. Because of this, security is quite vigilant, and there’s always the chance that you may be asked to provide proof that you’re a residing guest of the resort, as was the case when I was approached by one of the guards while while using the Wi-Fi in the lobby.

For the most part, the food’s great. It’s what you would expect from an all-inclusive, really. Ackee and Saltfish, pancakes, waffles, dessert, French, Italian, and American cuisine, fresh smoothies derived using local flavours (sweet sop, papaya). There’s a lot to choose from. Like most all-inclusives, there’s a bar where you can order food and drink at any hour of the day. Problem is, they never served more than half the items listed on the menu. On our first night, my BFF ordered a Jerk Chicken Tortilla that she was lucky not to finish, because when I bit into it, I realised there were numerous bone fragments present. I decided to open it up to see how many more fragments were hidden inside, and found a huge two-inch bone that the chef should have removed before wrapping the tortilla. Smh.

I wasn’t expecting much, but what little we got, ended up being a huge disappointment anyway. The staff was mostly pleasant, but we did come across a handful of workers who were poorly trained and exhibited indifference to our most basic needs. I understand that one needs to wait to be seated, but in a room full of unreserved tables, how difficult is it to seat us next to the other members of our party—especially when they’re surrounded by empty tables. Once seated, we were literally denied cutlery, until another staffmember caught wind of the bullsh*t and quickly grabbed the cutlery from a different table while subsequently taking our drink order, as the waitress who had originally seated failed to return as she’d promised to do.

At 260$ per night, I merely expected them to keep their end of the deal. Perhaps I was asking too much.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
Thank DarthCraiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shire B, Social Media Champion at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our resort and sharing your feedback. We are happy that you choose our resort to spend your vacation out of your many options. We offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or disappointment experienced during your stay.

It is our sincere apologies for the poor connection with the internet, as we work hard in improving the system in the future.

The resort has suffered from a number the climate change hazards, which has robbed us of our beach space. We are happy to have regained our beach space and we hope to sustain the beauty we had before.

Our staffs are committed to ensuring that we meet the needs of every guest and we express our deepest apologies that we were unable to meet your expectations.

As well, we have noted your other concerns from our survey and we will seek to address them within our scope.

We do hope that you were still able to enjoy our warm Jamaican hospitality and enchanting ambiance.

It was our privilege to host you, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Shire B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing experience at the resort and surround areas. The staff was super helpful and always willing to give you a suggestion or recommendation for an excursion or restaurant to try. I already want to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicole Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shire B, Social Media Champion at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our resort and sharing your feedback. We are happy that you choose our resort as your vacation destination. It was truly delightful to have served you and made your experience filled with our awesome hospitality.

Your commendations of our wonderful staff are appreciated and it will be conveyed to our entire team.

We do try to ensure our guests have an exceptional vacation, while enjoying our warm Jamaican hospitality and enchanting ambiance.

It was certainly our privilege to have served you, and we would love to have you back with us someday soon.


Warm regards,
Shire B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you're anything like me, you meticulously review anything you buy beforehand. So I am writing this review as honest as possible.

The resort itself is good but not great. Nothing was gross or off-putting but it wasn't the best resort I have ever stayed in. The rooms could use some updating, though. We had to get three separate keycards because ours would randomly stop working. The AC worked only about 75% of the time. We didn't get towels three days in a row when they came to our room- we had to call the operator. The first night, we checked into the resort at 6pm. Stupidly, maybe, that night we left $15 in cash on our dresser as we walked around the resort and housekeeping came in and decided that was for them. The resort also blasted music with a thumping bass starting at 8am and it went until 2am. So prepare yourself for that if you are coming here for a relaxing vacation. Don't expect WIFI on the resort, either. It is spotty, at best. We only really got WIFI signal during breakfast at the buffet.

Another major issue I have with the resort is maybe a personal and selfish one but an issue nonetheless. We paid a decent amount of $$ for a cabana, which included a personalized breakfast and dinner. They forgot about our breakfast and we ended up eating an hour and a half late and only after we approached the front desk. For dinner, they overbooked and we ended up eating dinner 30 minutes late. Which, normally, whatever, not a big deal. But we paid a significant amount of money to the resort for this package and they were already very late with breakfast earlier that day.
Now the PROS- Their beach was small but nice. There were always chairs available. The service at all the restaurants and bars was great. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I personally thought the food was great. The best (other than the personalized dinner) was the hibachi or Moonstone. We didn't try Platinum, though (we didn't bring dress clothes to the beach LOL). The resort is also very clean. And if you like cats (I love cats), there are cats all over the resort and they are very friendly.

Overall, would I recommend this resort to a friend? No, probably not. I don't understand the cult following this place has, to be honest, but maybe it just wasn't for me. It was a cool experience with a lot of good qualities but for us, the cons outweighed the pros. We didn't have a terrible time but again, we won't be a returning customer.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bgray0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shire B, Social Media Champion at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our resort and sharing your feedback. We are happy that you choose our resort to spend your vacation, out of your many options. We offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or disappointment experienced during your stay.

We do have upgrades on the horizon and we do hope that you will be able to return, so you can see the changes we have made.

It is our sincere apologies for the poor connection with the internet, as we work hard in improving the system in the future.

We do apologize regarding the temperature issue you had experience during your stay and we do assure you that we will address each unit accordingly.

Our housekeepers would not clean the room at night, only a turn down service and we do hope you had brought it our attention so we could investigate the claims.

As well, we have noted your other concerns and we will seek to address them within our scope.

It was our privilege to host you, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Shire B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As far as service goes, we were unsatisfied. The front desk could not give change for a hundred dollar bill on 3 separate occasions. When we requested two extra towels and extra water in the room we were told we would receive them but never did. The beach towel hut rarely had any towels available. We waited one hour for towels the first day there. The bathtub was dirty upon arrival and stayed that way the entire week. The bathroom was extremely small with no fan and the dimmest lighting. You could not walk through the lobby without being hassled by spa employees trying to sell you services and could not walk the tiny beach without being hassled to buy something. For being an all-inclusive it seemed there was a fee for everything. They offer a fresh coconut to drink out of and then you find out it is $3. Room service was not included. No continental breakfast. No spirits in your room refrigerator. No touch of Jamaica. Restaurants were Asian and Italian. Buffet was tired. Only music played was Shaggy or Bob Marley Legends album. The only time we felt like we were in Jamaica was on our excursions. Love Jamaica. Will return yet again. Not to this "resort".

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank cmdresen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shire B, Social Media Champion at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our resort and sharing your feedback. We are happy that you choose our resort to spend your vacation, out of your many options. We offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or disappointment experienced during your stay.

It is unfortunate,that every time you came for change we were completely out and we do empathize with you.

All your accusations are noted for investigation and we will address the spa department for their approach.

As well, we have noted your other concerns and we will seek to have the accessed them accordingly.

We are sorry that you will not be returning to our resort and we do hope that you were still able to enjoy your vacation .

It was our privilege to host you, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Warm regards
Shire B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What can I say other than perfection. Beautiful resort and great food. Best part of the stay is the staff. The resort is small enough for them to really get to know you and make you feel special. Food is great too. Rent a cabana so you can be blessed by Judy’s excellent service. Basil may serve you as well and if he does you will want to keep coming back. Judeen, Mr. Bertram, Shushelea and Enrico will take care of you in the restaurants. Shaquille, Shawn, Garnet, Uton, Morris, Cornell and LaSonya will prepare drinks that are to die for. Jason(the Mayor) and his crew will entertain you day and night. Finally, the manager, Alicia Mullings will definitely make sure everything is perfect through your stay. If you can opt for butler service, Fabian, Ludlow and Dherern will not disappoint. This was our fourth stay and we will go for number five next summer!!

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Thank wendygI2222WN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shire B, Social Media Champion at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our resort and sharing your feedback. We are happy that you choose our resort again, as your vacation destination. It was truly delightful to have served you and made your experience filled with our awesome hospitality.

Your commendations of our wonderful staff are appreciated and it will be conveyed to our entire team.

As a family, we take pride in remembering your unique needs, while we go above and beyond to meet your expectations.

We do hope you had a spectacular vacation, as receive our warm Jamaican hospitality.

It was certainly our privilege to have served you, and we would love to have you back with us someday soon.


Warm regards,
Shire B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews