We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening out”

Escape Hunt Auckland
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.09*
and up
Premium Live Escape Room Experience
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Takapuna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: AUCKLAND'S MOST PREMIUM AND IMMERSIVE LIVE INTERACTIVE ESCAPE ROOM EXPERIENCE Try the world's best escape games with a NZ twist - including the world's only rugby themed escape room. Escape from getting lost in the Milford Sound or from a shipwreck in the Auckland Islands. A true 5 star experience which lasts ~90 minutes, where you will: - Get locked in a room with up to 5 friends for 60 minutes to find clues, crack puzzles and solve our unique kiwi mysteries before time runs out! - Enjoy complimentary refreshments in our luxury lounge - Do a free detective photo shoot Play together with friends and family in teams of 2-5 (recommended ages 7+). Or book multiple rooms to challenge your friends! It's non-stop, adrenalin pumping, brain activity at it's best! Fun for all ages (no gore or horror) - friends, families, birthday parties, kids parties, hens/buck's and corporate team building.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Great activity for a rainy day or evening.
Staff were absolutely great and helpful.
A lot of thought and effort has gone into making the escape rooms.

Really enjoyable!

Thank laurenbeeforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina T, Owner at Escape Hunt Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Lauren,

It's so great to hear that you had a really enjoyable time. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, much appreciated. We hope to host you for a game in one of our other rooms some time soon :)

Kind regards
Gina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great fun"
in 7 reviews
"fantastic experience"
in 2 reviews
"i'm sure"
in 2 reviews
"staff member"
in 2 reviews
"a couple of times"
in 2 reviews
"super friendly staff"
in 2 reviews
"awesome evening"
in 2 reviews
"easy level"
in 2 reviews
"milford track"
in 2 reviews
"fun activity"
in 2 reviews
"beginner level"
in 2 reviews
"thank goodness"
in 2 reviews
"look forward"
in 2 reviews
"forest"
in 6 reviews
"trophy"
in 5 reviews
"shipwreck"
in 4 reviews
"rugby"
in 4 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017

This was a day trip with a bunch of self proclaimed geniuses. We opted straight for the hardest room, on the hardest level. Needless to say it was a humbling experience.

The lobby is spacious and warm, and a great builder of anticipation with mini puzzles on the tables (and complimentary tea/coffee).

The challenges were tough, but incredibly satisfying, with a strong narrative arc.
The hosts focus on an engaging experience, and are available for help if/when necessary.

Looking forward to coming back (though perhaps on an easier setting...)

Thank BenMcCarthy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina T, Owner at Escape Hunt Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Dear Ben,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and found it challenging!!
Looking forward to hosting you for another game soon.

Kind regards
Gina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We had a really great experience "Lost in The Forest" with friends. A lovely welcome by the owner Gina and the clues to solve the mysterys were great. I look forward to returning with my family.

1  Thank annekellynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina T, Owner at Escape Hunt Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear annekellynz,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us, it's much appreciated!! I'm so pleased to hear that you had a great time with us and we look forward to hosting your family again for another escape experience soon.

Kind regards
Gina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

I have never been to an escape room before but this was really enjoyable. They were so friendly there and we all had a fantastic time! Will definitely be going back.

Thank jelisha02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina T, Owner at Escape Hunt Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear jelisha02,

I'm so happy to hear that your first escape room experience was a great one!! Looking forward to having your group back for another game soon.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it's greatly appreciated!!

Kind regards
Gina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017

We booked the "easy" room for the three of us, and we had a blast! Of course, everyone in our party perished, as we were unable to complete our quest in the hour provided, but those are the breaks! ;-) The game masters were excellent and a lot of fun. They provided help when needed, and even let us stay late and finish our game, as no one was in line for the room behind us. (Normally, they would need to stick to the firm one-hour if there were people waiting, I'm sure). We had a fabulous time, and would definitely try it again with a different story line.

Thank Dinna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina T, Owner at Escape Hunt Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Dinna M,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us!! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed the whole experience and had such a fabulous time escaping with us that you would like to return to play another room! We hope to host you for another game some time soon!
It would be great to know what we could do to make it a 5 star experience for you.

Kind regards
Gina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escape Hunt Auckland also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Escape Hunt Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing