We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
82
48
19
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
48
19
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool table in town hot tub common kitchen area superb hospitality room was clean nice place to stay downtown fernie great mountain compared to other hotels small fridge would stay again regular room ski hill full kitchen after a long day sam
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Very clean, friendly staff, much more than I expected. Very comfortable, nothing exotic, but well maintained. Has a common kitchen area and bbq, lots of units with kitchens, and excellent wifi. They don't have a sign right on the street so you do have to watch for it.

Room Tip: If you have special needs, eg using for work, let the owner know.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TedSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear Ted,
It was such a pleasure having you with us. Thanks for staying in our lodge and for your review. Glad that you found our lodge "very clean, comfortable and well maintained". Thanks for noting "fantastic value". The City won't let us put a highway signage, however we are working on alternative signage to make our lodge easily visible. We hope to see again soon. Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2018

I understand the Powder Mountain Lodge is a family owned motel. I would stay there again for that reason alone. The bedding was clean which is one of my main concerns when I walk into a guest room. I'm pretty sure the room had been recently painted but it was still in need of many repairs. There were many lovely areas inside the courtyard where you could go and relax. I would recommend the Powder Mountain Lodge but keep in mind that it's an older motel.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear Diane,
Thanks for staying with us and for your review. Glad that you found our bedding very clean and courtyard relaxing. Last spring we upgraded entire main floor of the South wing and are planning next big renovation either this Fall or next Spring depending on the contractors and so on. We have been always upgrading our lodge and facility to serve lovely guests better. We look forward to welcome you again soon. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Seems to be an older hotel, definitely not extremely fancy. However, I will stay there every time I go to fernie. It was homey and comfortable. The man at the front desk is amazing - clearly works really hard to make sure the guests feel welcome. In addition to all this the hotel is very clean! I recommend this place to anyone looking for a decent price hotel that’s good quality!!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank kalli m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Kalli,
Thanks for staying with us and for your review. Glad that you felt welcome and home in our lodge. Thanks for noting our decent price. We look forward to welcome you again soon. Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Check-in was quick, friendly yet professional staff. Clean rooms, comfy beds and surprisingly quite place for busy long weekend - good sleep. Close to pubs, walked to the downtown Fernie. WiFi speed superb. Cute little mountain town. Enjoyed the pool - very clean water. Right on highway, yet no traffic noise in the courtyard or rooms. Beautiful flowers all around the building makes it very inviting and welcoming Compared to other hotels in town, the price is very reasonable and not expensive. We will come back and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rudy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Rudy,
It's always such a pleasure having you and your family with us. Thanks for making our lodge your Fernie home. Thanks for your review. Glad that as always you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for noting our clean rooms, comfy beds and reasonable price. We look forward to welcome you again soon. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2018

We booked here on line for a one night stay in Fernie. The hotel is located on highway 3 and easy to find. There is free parking right in front of the hotel.

Check-in was easy - the owner (or staff) who checked us in was very friendly and we had a good chat. The motel is an older-style, two storey and build around a courtyard with a pool. The room was basic but did have A/C, a small fridge and microwave. The bathroom showed the age of the property. The beds were comfortable. Despite being on the main drag the hotel was quiet. The only disturbance was other patrons returning to the hotel after the bars closed.

The hotel is a short walk from downtown Fernie.

The WIFI worked well in the room.

There is not breakfast included with the room. In the "public" area there is a small pool table, hot tub, fireplace and TV (also TV in the rooms). We did not make use of these amenities.

The only real downside was the price. Fernie is an expensive place for what you get so this property was not out of line. All the hotels in town tend to be on the expensive side.

We may stay here again, depends what is available and what the prices are when we next travel to Fernie.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back and on the second floor may be quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EdS172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdermountainlodge, Manager at Powder Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Ed,
Thanks for staying with us and for your detailed review. Glad that you found our beds comfortable and hotel quite. Thanks for noting excellent WiFi connection. We have recently upgraded our WiFi system.

Fernie is a mountain resort town and hotel price range from $84 to $495/night. Our price is very decent compared to other hotels. We hope to welcome you again soon. If you visit us in Spring or Fall, we will try to give you even better rates. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews