We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and enjoyable meal”

Restaurant Le Mas d'Aigret
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$34
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Had a really authentic and tasty rural meal here - at the foot of cliffs and just about half a mile outside the wonderfully quaint village of Les Baux.
This small hotel has a pool and lovely garden and terrace. Food can be taken outside or in the cave restaurant inside.
Also the cleanest toilets I’ve ever seen in France!!

Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eric v, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Mas d'Aigret, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for your nice review. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2018

We ate here for dinner in April 2018, some of the first to arrive and the last to leave. The location, outside and internally, are superb: the view south is a classic slice of rural Provence; inside, the "troglodite" restaurant is built into the rock of the Alpilles. The service was charming throughout the meal, and afterwards (in the dark) we were thoughtfully led through the garden and shown the short cut to take us back to Les Baux without having to walk on the road. The cuisine was imaginative, varied, well-executed and nicely-presented; and we were given helpful and informative advice about wine The restaurant has a smart feel to it without being at all stuffy. In the summer, the outside terrace and the garden would be hard to beat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eric v, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Mas d'Aigret, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

It was a pleasure for us welcoming you at our atypical troglodyte restaurant, and we were very happy that you also discovered our ouside terrace with stunning vieww overlooking the Alpilles. Happy to hear that you enjoyed everything, and we thank you for your nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed In a villa opposite the restaurant for a week and visited this restaurant twice. We sat on the terrace which has incredible views. The staff were very friendly and were more than happy to translate the menu into English- as we couldn't read all of it.
Some of the menu had changed by our second visit, so it was great to have different options. There were various meat and fish options for starter and main. All the food was delicious and presented well. I would certainly recommend the citron presse.
The staff asked us to choose all 3 courses at the beginning of the meal. They were really helpful with smaller children that we were sat near in terms of being flexible with the menu. The goats cheese terrine, beef and chocolate fondant were all delicious.

1  Thank 73b73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eric V, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Mas d'Aigret, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Bonjour,
Thank you very much for your nice review. We really appreciate it.
We are happy that you enjoyed our restaurant. And all the staff thank you for coming at le Mas d'Aigret during your holidays in Les Baux de Provence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Except surrounding and landscape there is nothing exceptional about this restaurant. The food is very average. You can eat the same in any brasserie in Provence. We were five people there and ordered main courses and deserts and no one was delighted with the food. First of all the menu was poor. What's is special about mixing rice with quinoa? You can do it yourself at home. The fish they had it was very common bream! The ravioli were ready from the shop! Most of the desserts were ready from a freezer, they just heated it up! On their website they show much bigger choice. We were all disappointed as soon we opened a menu but then tasting the quality of the food we were wondering what was a point to go out to celebrate birthday? My husband summed up this restaurant by saying said that I could make the same or even better at home. Please note that we live in France so we have easy access to very good quality food from local markets. But if you come from other country you may like this restaurant because it's not bad, it is just very usual but you bear in mind that you have to pay a high price because it's about 60 Euros per person (2 meals!). Definitely I can not recommend this place for a special occasion. And I would not come back there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Praxeda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We have been recently and there was definitively a lack of imagination for the menu. It is a pity, the place is great ! I like the room of the restaurant and the view over the valley. For the food, the main concern is that you have the impression you can have the same quality at home , at least if you are french . That is deceiving as prices are not so low. My wife claims that her chocolate cake was coming from the friser, but i am not sure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jkellerlocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Mas d'Aigret also viewed

Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Maussane-les-Alpilles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Restaurant Le Mas d'Aigret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing