We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Nearby Hotels
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chameleon Hotel(Castlegar)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Motel(Castlegar)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozy Pines Motel(Castlegar)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
21
38
38
18
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
38
38
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanindoor poolatrium areawould stay againexcellent stayroom rateaughockeystopovercollege
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Booked a JR king room with a kitchen. the room was smallish but functional. the room had a full kitchen with pots pans cutlery and dishes. The maids were stingy with the dish towels but there were plenty of towels in the bathroom ;-) The room seemed a bit overpriced but what hotel doesn't jack their rates up in the summer?

Room Tip: join their star plus program
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

Thank you for staying with us and I am glad the room seemed to be functional for you. I will make sure the housekeeping staff are not so stingy with dish towels for future guests :) Hope we see you again when you are in the Castlegar area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Right off the bat - very clean grounds and building. Ample parking. A hotel must be pet-friendly in many ways to get my vote. Upon registering - staff very efficient, polite and organized. I was very happy about the layout and cleanliness of the room. Wifi worked well. My room came with fridge and microwave which is important to me while travelling. There are restaurants and shopping across the road. I will be back.

Room Tip: Happy with a ground floor corner suite and the trees buffed the highway noise at the back. Various prices for different suites.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susan5161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with ours staff and facilities. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to you staying with us again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for a one night stay on our way thru. Honestly I was looking for a more authentic stay somewhere in the mountains but this is where we got tired! This is an older property with a nice lobby and a pretty indoor pool area but it was far too hot for us to use. We walked in and walked right back out.
The room was perfectly fine. New bedding. Comfy bed and pillows. Nice tv. Coffee maker and microwave. The bathroom was tired and if you are a fussy tenant you will not like the old yellow tub tiles or worn sink and counters. Not fussy.. This is a nice room! $155 with caa and taxes in, so not cheap. We didn't have breakfast... It was $6.99 extra but it looked like a nice selection. Friendly, helpful lady at check in. Thanks!

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Saskgal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We appreciate your comments it is always good to hear from our guests and find out where we can improve. Hopefully we will see you again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Just looking for a stop over hotel on our way home to Saskatchewan and we happened to stop at the Sandman. The Lady at reception was exceptionally helpful and probably gave us the best explanation on what we could expect at the hotel. I wish I had taken her name.

The reception dog was awesome too :-)

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Saskwelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were helpful. We always enjoy having our 4 legged guests stay with us also. Hopefully we will come and visit us again when you are in the Castlegar area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

One of there older locations but still nice. Beds were nice, room was clean. We got a room with three beds for the family which was great. Internet was stable for all of us with a few minor disconnects. Enjoyed the pool/atrium/hot tub. A couple drawbacks is the whirlpool is weak, upholstery on the chairs in our room need a change, And the bathrooms are relatively small. Overall a very solid and economical location with very good staff. We had a great sleep and enjoyed our stay. Wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank twysted2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Thank you very much for your review and stay with us here in Castlegar. I am glade to hear you enjoyed the hotel and that our staff were good. We look forward to you staying with again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews