We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hume Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blaylock Mansion(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Hound Inn(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Kokanee Glacier Resort(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Inn and Suites(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dancing Bear Inn(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cloudside Hotel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Adventure Hotel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveler rating
464
197
51
22
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
197
51
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary loungethe pubgeneral storemike's placefourth floorspirit barhistoric hotellive jazzbreakfast was includedmodern amenitieshot breakfastold buildingroom ratelimited parkingwonderful hotelin townfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 745 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Easily 5 of 5 stars! The hotel itself and the lobby and our great room! Friendly, quaint, clean! The pub was quite busy and a tad slow on service but food was awesome quality and specials were bang on excellent! Had a very nice time here in Nelson. Internet works great and tv is a nice size with high def offered too! One of very nicest hotels ever I have had the pleasure to stay at! A big thanks! Highly recommended and thanks to my massage therapist back in Kelowna, Jack, for recommending it to us. (:

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nolpreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Love this place! We stay here whenever we can! The History and atmosphere are above everything! Food is fantastic, rooms are huge, staff are helpful. 8 ft stair case and stories of it being a little haunted make it fun! (I have yet to see any Haunting and have been in every room and been there a dozen times or so in my life.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite. Bigger room better view
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canada_Goos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Let me start with the good bits as I would like this to be a balanced review despite my one disappointment. Hotel is in a fantastic location. Staff are very friendly, helpful and professional. The hotel is full of character and history and is very appealing in so many ways. The room we had overlooked the front of the hotel with a view of the river which was a very nice thing to wake up to each day. Everywhere throughout the hotel was impeccably clean. I couldn't recommend it high enough if it wasn't for just one thing ...

The hotel has a fantastic pub, Mike's place, and relaxing Library Lounge. Both these are the types of places we like to visit to eat and/or relax as a family. One of the factors in choosing a hotel is having somewhere we can sit down and have a drink and snack or eat together in an informal setting. But oh no, for some reason this hotel have decided to expel children from both Mike's pub and the Library lounge, living the only option to sit in a non-atmospheric restaurant (but still lovely). Given these establishments are part of a hotel where we are paying for overnight accommodation I find this a very bizarre decision in this day and age. We have travelled the world and have never, not once, come across such a stifled and dated attitude. We have often overlooked hotels because they make it clear they cater more towards adult, or are adult only, but this hotel did not give that impression when booking. The only explanation offered by the staff was that the hotel was not licensed to have minors is these places, not even with adults and not even when eating. I do not profess to know the Canadian licensing laws, but given that we have not come across this elsewhere on our Canadian travels then I can only guess that it is driven by cost or a desire to create a certain atmosphere at the exclusion of families and children. To not state this up front on the website is most disappointing.

Had it not been for the above then this would have, without doubt, been a 5 star review. 5 star plus if such a category existed. In every other respect it is truly great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel, room 336 afforded fantastic views over the river and mountains
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smithski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied due to the reason you have stated. To say that we do not cater to families because children aren't allowed in our pub or lounge is really a misnomer. This hotel has always catered to both local and visiting families alike for 120 years. Children certainly have never been 'expelled' from these areas, they have just never been permitted due to the licensing restrictions set forth by the province. They are welcomed in the General Store Restaurant which recently received a full renovation last year. Typically families are really happy there and we apologize if you didn't find that it was the right atmosphere for you.

Thanks for at least highlighting some of the positives things you enjoyed about our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here. Check in was awkward as our paid reservation was lost. We had our own email confirmation thankfully. It could have been handled quicker, but two women handled it professionally. Our room was lovely and comfortable. The breakfast, that is included, is very unique. Instead of a typical buffet they seat you and provide you with menus. So breakfast is individual and hot from the kitchen. We did not fine at the hotel, but it had a great looking menu and clearly it is a crowd classic from seeing all seats full. Bravo!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Kristan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2018

The Hume hotel offers the full package for a family trip. My wife had the luxury of the Spa on the second floor, while I was able to sit back in the rustic Mike's pub to catch a footy match on the big screen. That evening we enjoyed terrific live acoustic music in the chill Library lounge, while for breakfast we were able to squeeze our little one into a booth for the most delicious crepes ever! If we hadn't had the little one we could have even gone downstairs to the Spirit bar for a live show...that will have to wait for next time when grandma is looking after our daughter I suppose.

All in all a perfect place to stay with a shuttle to the ski hill, super friendly staff, and newly renovated rooms.

Love the Hume!

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calebmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Great to hear! Thanks for this positive sentiment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews