We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cloudside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prestige Inn Nelson(Nelson)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kokanee Glacier Resort(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Inn and Suites(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Adventure Hotel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hume Hotel & Spa(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Hound Inn(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Dancing Bear Inn(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveler rating
319
46
12
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
46
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cedar roomthe main streetoff street parkingsitting roomwithin walking distancethe location is perfecttop floorwonderful hostsboutique hoteldowntown areastayed for two nightsdowntown nelsonfull kitchensmall fridgebed was very comfortableair conditionerchris
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

We are a family of 3 Aussies who visited Cloudside for three nights in January.

In short we can’t recommend this place enough.

The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The suite was massive, recently decorated with decent sized beds and nice furnishings and characterful thanks to retained Victorian features.

The hotel is very centrally located and only a 2min walk from the main shops, restaurants and pubs in Nelson which made our visit very easy.

The owners Chris and Sally are always ready to offer advice on where to go and what to see, and are clearly very passionate about the community. If you get a chance, have a chat with them as it’s nice to get an insight into the local community.

We will be back

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank jmckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you so much for the great review. We really enjoyed meeting you all, and look forward to seeing you again if you come this way. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of you ski trip.
Sally and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

We loved this gem of a hotel. The most welcoming and accommodating owners who have styled this hotel very tastefully. The beds were incredibly comfortable. There is on site parking and its very close to the centre of town. Everything is in walking distance. If you are looking for something special try booking the suite.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Elizabeth2859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Oh Wow Elizabeth, thank you so much for such a glowing review. When we hear feedback like this it really makes running this business so worth while, it means so much to Chris and I, thank you. We are so happy you enjoyed your time in Nelson, and hope one day your travels might bring you this way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 December 2017

Arrived in Nelson BC after travelling for four weeks through the States and found a hidden gem in Cloudside. We are here for two weeks and wanted a hotel where we could set up a base to relax, recoup, visit relatives, explore and we found it ! Exceptionally well appointed with beautiful furnishings, very comfortable beds and pillows, views from windows to river and mountains, fully appointed kitchen, great heating and privacy. My husband and I love it here and rate Cloudside 5 Stars all the way.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traclowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Front Office Manager at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Thank you so much traclowe for your raving review!
We love accommodating you and your husband at our hotel.
Regula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 December 2017

To break our trip from Kimberley BC home to Victoria, we took friend's recommendation and called Cloudside Hotel from the car. Regula at reception was quick to confirm our recommendation and most hepful- minimum fuss, maximum welcome. The room was superb, so big and well-appointed. We were carrying the flowers from our daughter's wedding the day before and needed to find somewhere cool to store them overnight as they would freeze in the car. Lo and behold, our room had its own private enclosed verandah at just the right temperature! Everywhere we looked, the room and indeed the hotel reflected great care in making sure everything was first class and we hated to have to leave the next day. Regula had great recommendations for eating out and could not do enough for us. This is a great hotel just off the main street so in a quiet area but within easy walking distance of a lot of great restaurants. Thanks, Cloudside.

Room Tip: Choose the one at the front with its own verandah right across from reception. Great view across the valley.
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Front Office Manager at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

You are most welcome TravellingMariner and thank you so much to both of you for your wonderful review of our hotel and service.
Next time you have to stay longer!
Looking forward to seeing you again,
Regula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 November 2017

On our recent road trip we stopped in Nelson, which is a favourite of ours. We decided to try a new accommodation there and arrived to see if there were rooms available at the Cloudside Hotel. Sally, the host, warmly greeted us and showed us a couple of the rooms available. It was as if we had arrived in a beautifully cared for old English home that was so welcoming. We had initially thought we would take the smallest room but after seeing the lovely Maple Suite we decided an upgrade was a very good idea! This suite has a beautiful big king bed in a room that is soft colours and very tranquil. The sitting room is most comfortable and there is coffee and tea making facilities and a microwave, along with cream and milk in the fridge for you. There are dishes available if you need them. It was so lovely to sit back and enjoy a cup of tea, with my feet up, after a day of driving.
Cloudside is one street away from the main street, Baker Street, and you have an easy walk to shopping, eating places, coffee shops and you can go down by the river for a lovely long walk if you are interested. There is a guide book in the room to restaurants
Cloudside will most definitely be on our list now of where to stay in Nelson. Give it a try. If you check their website you can also see they have accommodations that are more spacious and have facilities for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cucina58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, it really makes us so happy you enjoyed the Cloudside Hotel so much. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip, and look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Thank you again.
Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews