We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveler rating
98
85
68
52
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
85
68
52
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower rooms front desk staff renovated room hockey team beds were comfortable sauna washroom
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

Went here for conference at McMaster’s Kitchener campus.
Renovations everywhere but everything is looking better. Rates are good but it’s offseason time.
The lobby is off to one side.
I was in renovated room on the fifth floor. The room is impressive. Quality bed and clean room. Nice floor and decor. The bathroom was quite nice. Free Wifi but a little slow.
Free parking was awesome.
The gym was the highlight for me. See Uploaded pictures. There was free weights, treadmill, multigym, recumbent bike and ellipses. The bench was of solid sturdy construction. Bottled water in the fridge and towels await.
Dinner was excellent. I sat bar-side and had a wonderful conversation with Janet, the bartender. The dinner was served quickly. I ordered a Thai chicken on rice dinner.
The sleep came quickly on a comfortable bed. Either soft or firm pillows are available and you may select others. I was satisfied with the stock pillows. The soap is invigorating as is the shampoo and hand lotion.
I went down for a buffet breakfast. Included was scrambled eggs, sausages, toast, french toast, yogurt and granola, fruit and pan fried potatoes. The was fresh apples and oranges. OJ and coffee were of good quality.
I would definitely be back here if a visit was necessitated in the future.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank MrRobColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerofthenight, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2018

Dear Mr. Robcolo,

We would like to extend our great appreciation to you, for sharing this wonderful comment with other Tripadvisor readers. We are so excited to hear your compliments about our hotel and staff. We pride ourselves on going the extra mile to ensure you had a memorable stay. The secret to our success is our commitment and dedication to the daily service we provide; as customer satisfaction is our number one priority.

We are also thrilled to hear that every aspect of your stay was exceptional from the excellent food and service in the bar, to the amenities in our room, to the options that our guests have in our gym. We are always thrilled to hear that our guests enjoy all facets of our hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your business, and we were delighted to be your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Kitchener-Cambridge. It would be our pleasure to see you again.

Sincerely,
Tristan Wilkinson, Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 November 2018

We don't usually stay at Holiday Inn. And we won't be back. The 1st room they gave us in the 100% NO SMOKING HOTEL...the room stunk so bad of smoke we had to be moved.....with the front desk saying..."No it can't be, we're a NO SMOKING HOTEL"...REALLY??? Come have a SMELL...With 4000 kms to drive we needed a early night and a good sleep. Didn't happen. We tried to get to bed at 9pm, which turned out to be exactly when other guests with children decided to let the run the halls.....banging on all the doors......and screaming obscenities at the top of the lungs.....over and over and over. WHERE ARE THE PARENTS?? Now we're wide awake....by 10:20 we called the front desk....the kids took a couple last lap and didn't come back.....great, time to go to sleep....when the next door people came in....... and started playing the music so loud we were awake again.....after 30 minutes of longing to go to sleep, we felt bad but had to call the front desk again. They sent security up. Listening in, "she" did a excellent job saying that they would be removed from the hotel if she had to come back. The music went down....away she went. Within 5 minutes the TV was so loud that they couldn't hear each other speak, so they were yelling....now it's 12:45.....so much for a good night sleep.....so much for HOLIDAY INN!

Room tip: Pick a different hotel
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank azahunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerofthenight, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018

Dear Azahunting,

It was very kind of you to take a few minutes out of your busy schedule to share your experience on Tripadvisor and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener-Cambridge for your recent stay. I am very disappointed that we were unable to resolve the issues you experienced while you were with us.

I have taken your comments to our service team and we have our front desk/rooms division team investigating the issues you experienced. We currently have a new team policy in place, that is being used within the hotels in the region, to curb these issues of noise and rowdiness you esperienced. With regards to the smoking, we are 100% smoke free at this property and those who are caught smoking inside the hotel are fined for 200$ a night for violating this policy.

It is only by hearing guest comments that we can make changes in the way that we do business to improve our service levels in all areas. As a Quality Excellence Award Winning hotel our team is completely committed to ensuring that all of our guests enjoy a superior level of service during their visit with us and it is very disappointing when we fail to carry that promise through.

I would like to take some time and discuss your individual experience in more detail with you so that we can take specific steps to improve on the areas that were of concern to you, particularly your comments about following up on disruptive rooms. We have the highest of expectations from our departments so I want to be sure that we are maintaining the standards we have committed to providing our guests.

Further, I would like to invite you to give us another opportunity to demonstrate the product and services we are used to providing to our guests. I am very sorry that we were unable to provide this to you during your stay.

If you had any questions or concerns, you can contact me at tristan.wilkinson@sunraygroup.ca. Thanks you again for your feedback and have a great day.

Sincerely,
Tristan Wilkinson, Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 November 2018 via mobile

Holiday inn express is usually the hotel i try to book first, but this was really not what i expected. Yes it is under construction and hugely in need of renovation throughout. The room was ok, beds and bathroom clean. But way overpriced. A note in the room to "be careful" and preferably park in the front of the building "at night for safety". Good breakfast and coffee. Staff pleasant and obviously trying to make the best of the construction situation. Website pics misleading.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank lhsmsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerofthenight, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Dear Ihsmsch,

We would like to extend our great appreciation to you, for sharing your kind comments with other Tripadvisor readers. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener-Cambridge and we are so glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us.

We especially enjoyed reading that the room was clean, the breakfast/coffee was good and the staff were pleasant. We will always be here to go the extra mile and exceed all expectations as customer service is our top priority. We appreciate your feedback on the information about our hotel's prices and the pictures used by our website, we will pass this onto our management team.

The Holiday Inn Kitchener-Cambridge thanks you for your business; it would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Tristan Wilkinson, Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

The room was recently renovated, and clean. The staff were friendly.
Travel time to KMAC and other areas were under 15 minutes, close to a mall and lots of food options nearby.
The hotel bar had a small but good selection of beer on tap. The food was really good. Definitely will stay here again if in town

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Grabman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerofthenight, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Dear Grabman5,

We would like to extend our great appreciation to you, for sharing your kind comments with other Tripadvisor readers. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener-Cambridge for your stay with us. We enjoyed reading that all our team members provided a friendly and individualized service, we will always be here to go the extra mile and exceed all expectations as customer service is our top priority. Lastly, we are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the food the hotel has to offer, this comment will definitely thrill our kitchen staff.

The Holiday Inn Kitchener-Cambridge family thanks you for your business; it would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Tristan Wilkinson, Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2018

Staff very helpful and friendly. The internet didn't work in the older part of the hotel so they upgraded me to the newly renowned section. Gym was clean the breakfast was great and you can customer order your breakfast if you don't want the buffet.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerofthenight, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Charles W,

We would like to extend our great appreciation to you, for sharing your kind comments with other Tripadvisor readers. We want to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener-Cambridge for your recent stay with us. As a Quality Excellence Award Winning hotel our team is completely committed to ensuring that all of our guests enjoy a superior level of service during their stay with us. We are so glad to hear that we were able to assist you when you were experiencing issues with the wifi.We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our fitness center and breakfast in our restaurant.

Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener-Cambridge and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,
Tristan Wilkinson, Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews