We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$168
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HB Guest Home(Waterloo)(Great Value!)
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$127
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HB Guest Home 4(Waterloo)
US$91
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laurier(Waterloo)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveler rating
231
99
24
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
99
24
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutlet mallfarmers marketst jacobswet barthe general managernice indoor poolsalt water poolincluded in the room ratecomfortable bedslocation was perfecthard boiled eggsyogurtright next doorhotel is locatedsmall fridgeroom was spotlessshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We have stayed at this hotel several times before because the location is great and it was clean and new. On booking in this time, I was told we had two rooms booked, although I only booked one through the Holiday Inn website. I was told it was my mistake. They would not cancel the extra room, even though it was just before five. The manager, Mr. Naushad offered a gift certificate to be used in the future, one that had many stipulations like at least 14 days notice before use and blackoutdates. I tried to talk to him the next morning after a sleepless night wondering how I was going to pay for two rooms, but he was on a conference call. Holiday Inn main office guest services dealt with the problem, although they could not talk to the manager as he was on conference calls for three days. A computer glitch had doubled everyone's bookings on the day I booked the hotel and all hotels were notified of the problem. Holiday Inn Head Office is sending out a check for the extra room, although the hotel is a franchise. Holiday Inn head office said I should hear from the manager within 48 hours, but nothing so far.

Stayed: December 2015
4  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Dear Barbara G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. As you were aware, the reservation you made was Advance Purchase and Non-Refundable, due to the terms you directly agreed to at the time of booking.

Furthermore, the "double glitch" that you are referring to did not occur to anyone else that stayed with us, and this was the first time we had learned of this situation.

I did personally try to contact you on several occasions, however you refused to answer or return any of my calls. We were delighted to advise that you were refunded the entire amount of the Non-Refundable reservation that was booked in error by yourself at our location.

We hope that this resolves the matter, however should you wish to discuss this further, please don't hesitate to contact us at anytime.

All the best,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Stayed for a week on business. Hotel was very modern and quiet. Bathrooms are very modern with a floor to ceiling glass shower. Large flat screen TV. King bed was pretty comfortable. Lots of parking, wifi is excellent.

Room Tip: King Suite
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Dear Josh C.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with other visitors.

Our premier location is ideal for anyone coming to visit the Elmira/St. Jacob’s Region to catch a play, do some quick shopping at the Outlet Mall or even try some tasty Apple Fritters at the St.Jacobs Market. Even being just minutes away from Uptown Waterloo and Conestoga Mall makes this a great area for your getaway.

Many guests also enjoy the local heritage and culture of St.Jacobs that we have incorporated into the hotel. From the Mennonite made furnishings, and custom glass work to the hand stitched quilts and Mennonite artwork presented throughout the hotel. All guests enjoy these unique features and return regularly to get away from their busy lives.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Safe Travels from all Your Friends @
Holiday Inn Express & Suites – Waterloo/St.Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Modern facility, the staffs were professional, the gym was nice and well equipped. The pool was being repaired during my stay, did not use it. The Jacob outlet mall opposite the hotel was a added bonus. Overall enjoyed my stay, and the breakfast was simple, yet nice.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank margaret899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

Dear margaret899,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with other visitors.

Our premier location is ideal for anyone coming to visit the Elmira/St. Jacob’s Region to catch a play, do some quick shopping at the Outlet Mall or even try some tasty Apple Fritters at the St.Jacobs Market. Even being just minutes away from Uptown Waterloo and Conestoga Mall makes this a great area for your getaway.

Our complimentary Hot Breakfast is always a guest favorite. The new additions of Turkey Sausage, Greek Yogurt, and a Hot Cereal Station are an excellent complement to the scrambled eggs, pancakes, and freshly baked muffins.

We love hearing great feedback regarding the fantastic service our team carries out. Whether it is making dinner reservations for/at any of Waterloo’s finest restaurants or assisting a disabled guest to their vehicle, our entire staff always strives to go the extra mile to enhancing the total guest experience.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future; Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Safe Travels from all Your Friends @
Holiday Inn Express & Suites – Waterloo/St.Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 December 2015

Breakfast was included and coffee and tea were available all day. Couldn't ask for a better location. The Outlet Mall, Farmer's Market and Antique Market were all in walking distance of the hotel. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank angael2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Angael2000,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with other visitors.

Our premier location is ideal for anyone coming to visit the Elmira/St. Jacob’s Region to catch a play, do some quick shopping at the Outlet Mall or even try some tasty Apple Fritters at the St.Jacobs Market. Even being just minutes away from Uptown Waterloo and Conestoga Mall makes this a great area for your getaway.

The 24hr coffee/tea service that we offer in our Great Room is always appreciated by our guests. It goes great with our complimentary Hot Breakfast. The new additions of Turkey Sausage, Greek Yogurt, and a Hot Cereal Station are an excellent complement to the scrambled eggs, pancakes, and freshly baked muffins.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Safe Travels from all Your Friends @
Holiday Inn Express & Suites – Waterloo/St.Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 December 2015

Stayed two nights. Bright, large, clean room. Price in line with other hotels in the area. Courteous staff. Free Continental Breakfast with nice variety of breakfast items..Convenient parking. Hotel is close to the Outlet mall across ther road and the Mennonite Farmers Market.

Room Tip: Close to St Jacobs downtown area
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank daveandjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waterloo - St Jacobs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2015

Dear daveandjoann,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with other visitors.

Our premier location is ideal for anyone coming to visit the Elmira/St. Jacob’s Region to catch a play, do some quick shopping at the Outlet Mall or even try some tasty Apple Fritters at the St.Jacobs Market. Even being just minutes away from Uptown Waterloo and Conestoga Mall makes this a great area for your getaway.

Our complimentary Hot Breakfast is always a guest favorite. The new additions of Turkey Sausage, Greek Yogurt, and a Hot Cereal Station are an excellent complement to the scrambled eggs, pancakes, and freshly baked muffins.

We love hearing great feedback regarding the fantastic service our team carries out. Whether it is making dinner reservations for/at any of Waterloo’s finest restaurants or assisting a disabled guest to their vehicle, our entire staff always strives to go the extra mile to enhancing the total guest experience.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Safe Travels from all Your Friends @
Holiday Inn Express & Suites – Waterloo/St.Jacobs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews