We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$70
View Deal
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
Expedia.com
US$70
View Deal
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
eDreams
US$71
View Deal
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.comUS$70
Booking.comUS$71
Agoda.comUS$71
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,172)
Filter reviews
1,172 results
Traveler rating
261
425
304
108
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
261
425
304
108
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast buffet train noise train line fridge and microwave light sleeper the breakfast area yogurt railway safeway mountains rockies canada highway trail
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,172 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2020

Stayed for three nights and will return again. The separate couch area in our room was awesome to eat at, rather than on the bed. The only downfalls were unrelated to the hotel. COVID has closed the breakfast area and hot tub. Hoping those can be re-opened before the next stay. Stayed on Trail Side and never heard one train go by or the road. Safeway, Save-on, Canadian Tire, and numerous liquor stores are a 5 minute walk away across the tracks. 8th is only another 5 minutes away from that. It's not a 5 star hotel by any means but the value can't be beat.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 25 November 2020

Dear Derick R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Canmore.

Kind Regards,


Dominic Carufel
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 November 2020 via mobile

I swear I'd never stay here again. My friend booked the room and it was just one night so I thought, what could be so bad?So everyone is talking about the trains. Sure, the hotel is beside the train; there is that.
The toilet constantly ran. All night. The sink had a huge crack in it and was plugged. The shower leaked everywhere and when my friend tried to get out of the shower, the door was stuck. The handle was jammed in the door and she got stuck in there for a while until we could get her out. When you looked at the handle you could see all of the times they had tried to resilicone it together. Train? Could barely hear it over the toilet. So so so so bad.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank canadakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 25 November 2020

Dear canadakim,


Thank you for taking the opportunity to review our property. We sincerely apologize for the issues and inconveniences you experienced with your room during your stay. We always encourage our guests to notify our helpful front desk staff when experiencing any problems with their room. Our maintenance staff is equipped to resolve any issues promptly and effectively. Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback, we will take it in to consideration when making improvements to our property moving forward.

Kind Regards,

Dominic Carufel
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 October 2020

Stayed here just for one night with my family. There were 3 of us who shared an economy room with 2 double beds which faced the railway track.

It was so hard to get any sleep with the trains roughly 150ft away from the window. All night long trains were passing by and earlier in the evening there were kids running up and down and the halls for like an hour. Didn't think the railway track was going to be an issue but knowing what I know now I would have asked for a different room.

Not much else to say about the hotel since we did stay during COVID and we didn't want to be using facilities or such.

Overall clean room and nice/friendly staff.

Room tip: Make sure your room faces the road otherwise you'll be close to the railway track and won't be able to sleep.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1girl_1passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 24 December 2020

Dear 1girl_1passport,


Thank you for taking the opportunity to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. We apologize for any disruption you experienced as a result of the railway. Our property is centrally located and next to any active CP railway line which unfortunately does not follow a set schedule. We always strongly encourage guests to contact the front desk if they are experiencing any disturbances as a result of fellow guests. We are happy to see you had an overall satisfactory stay and hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Canmore.


Dominic Carufel
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2020

Arrived into Canmore late on a Friday night and stayed until Sunday. Two of us stayed in an economy room with 2 double beds, had a view of the "road" but was pleasantly surprised when I woke up to open blinds on Saturday morning to a clear sky and a bit of mountain.
Check in was really easy, check out was even easier. We wanted to stay on Sunday after check in to use the pool and it was no issue; the front desk staff issued me new keys so we could have access for the day and towels were supplied in the pool area. Room was clean with lots of towels and a mini fridge, hotel staff were lovely. I didn't use the gym; though I took a peak and it was small but tidy.
If I want to be picky, the one downside was the shower - there were no shelves in the shower which made showering without getting my hair wet nearly impossible.
No real complaints for the price range on this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iloveleavingedmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 8 November 2020

Dear iloveleavingedmonton,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your shower, we will take your concerns into consideration when making future improvements to our property. Thank you again for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back at our property on future visits to Canmore.


Kind Regards,

Dominic Carufel
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2020

Stayed there for 3 days - not very far from Banff but unfortunately it snowed one day. The room is nice & spacious. Excellent room service. Parking gets full if you get there late. Luckily for us we parked under a room & didn't have to shovel the snow from the car. Didn't get a room on the ground floor as requested.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lorraine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 8 November 2020

Dear Lorraine V,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We always try to acknowledge all guest requests to the best of our ability, we apologize if there was an oversight on this matter. We hope you will consider our property again on your next visit to Canmore and look forward to welcoming you back.


Kind Regards,


Dominic Carufel
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews