We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere. A little rushed. ”
Review of Tapas Restaurant

Tapas Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tapas Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 138 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6th Ave
Description: Consistently voted one of the most Romantic Restaurants in the Canadian Rockies, we are tucked off Main Street Canmore in a charming character house that was once a Miners home. Tapas offers a lively fusion of Spanish and Mediterranean flavours created by our kitchen team with mostly organic and locally sourced ingredients. We have designed a menu of specialty dishes that are prepared to order from the freshest farm to table ingredients available. All stocks, sauces and desserts are made by our Chef Chris in house. Our menu offers gluten free and vegetarian options. Share several plates among friends in the intimate dining room with Spanish style murals and high back leather chairs. We also have an eclectic attic with slanted ceilings and low windows which is great for small parties. Don’t forget to visit us in the summer where you can enjoy tapas on our Mediterranean- style deck with lovely al fresco ambiance. Want to bring your own wine? We offer a $25 per bottle corkage fee as
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I had a lovely dinner here while on vacation with out family. It was a nice night out. Food was fantastic and very well prepared. We had the tasting menu which is 8 courses and I would recommend this. We had a later dinner and were the only ones in the restaurant which was lovely but did feel a bit rushed through our last few courses. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 176sherid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhkendal, General Manager at Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your comments and we are sorry if we rushed you! We really appreciate the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a marvelous time here.
The staff were outstanding, the food was fantastic and the atmosphere was amazing.
The night we came, they had live acoustic guitar being played, and he was great.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank patecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhkendal, General Manager at Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you very much for dining with us and for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food might’ve ranked at a 7/10 so what could’ve happened to make us want to review the restaurant as “poor”? When my wife asked me how I felt when I walked out the doors, “poor” was the answer. Had our server told us there was a time limit on our stay, we could’ve understood. But being asked to leave an empty restaurant because the table was needed made us feel disrespected and completely tainted the evening. We will NOT be back. Not for the food and certainly not for the service.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Passenger762797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TapasGM, General Manager at Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Sir,

Thank you for your review and sharing your concerns. We allocate two hours for tables of two unless requested which is pretty standard for dining and your reservation was for 6:30 pm and the table was rebooked for our 8:30 seating. Our manager on duty that night did offer complimentary beverages after you had paid your bill and an alternate seat which is fair in our opinion and respectful to the guests who had booked our second seating. Our restaurant may seem "not full" as we transition to our second seating of the evening.
It is our practice to juggle reservations so we don't land up in a situation like this but people generally depart within 30 minutes of paying their bill.

Kind regards,

James Kendal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our friends had been before on a few occasions so booked for a table of four. We were seated quickly and given time to decide on drinks and were offered tap or sparkling water. Drink recommendations were made as we had questions, not being familiar with wines served in Canada. The menus was explained well and in detail. The food was delicious. We even shared dessert, with a struggle. This was one of our loveliest meals during our trip to Canada as a whole and we would definitely recommend going here.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 435lynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TapasGM, General Manager at Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your amazing review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

The setting (character lighting, interesting art and atmospheric music) is great scenery for the central role of the dishes on your table. Tapas are supposed to be shared, but I'm glad we both ordered the mussels, because they were so delicious (with smoky chorizo nuggets in a deeply rich, creamy sauce) that both my friend and I mopped up every last drop with our bread. And who would've thought that caramelized carrots could be such pleasure, enhanced as they were by maple syrup crystals that crunched delightfully under the teeth? A fine 9 oz glass of red wine did justice to the meal, over which we lingered in intimate conversation. The bill was commensurate with our enjoyment, and in keeping with the special occasion that it was. I love to cook and do a lot of it, so dining out is of particular significance to me. I was not disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank mpchappeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TapasGM, General Manager at Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review mpchappeland! We certainly appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

James Kendal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Restaurant also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Tapas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing